Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 40 to 52 of 61
  1. #40
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Las Vegas NV
    Posts
    1,152
    Quote Originally Posted by 3DD View Post
    I got this off the compressor, and I really appreciate your help trying to decode this for me:

    AH301 FT-077
    E L 2 6c 995131 AH5?46E
    V200 Hx50 PH1
    AH301FT-077 is all that's needed, it's the BOM number.
    The model is AH5540E

    The compressor you have is rated at:
    40,000 btuh @+45 sst @ 130 CT.
    208/230-1
    R22

  2. #41
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    11,863
    [QUOTE=beenthere;1954137]

    But that should be a 46,000 BTU R22 air conditioning compressor.[/QUOTE

    I'll go out on a limb and call this a ? ton.

  3. #42
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Las Vegas NV
    Posts
    1,152
    [QUOTE=the dangling wrangler;1954183]
    Quote Originally Posted by beenthere View Post

    But that should be a 46,000 BTU R22 air conditioning compressor.[/QUOTE

    I'll go out on a limb and call this a ? ton.
    He was mistaken when he wrote AH5?46E It would have been an AV5?46E and the BOM number on the top line of the tag would have been AV169RT which is a 46K btuh.

    He has what I posted earlier.

  4. #43
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    11,863
    Quote Originally Posted by powell View Post

    He has what I posted earlier.
    I know that. I'm just giving been a hard time, seeing as nobody else ever does.

  5. #44
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    SW Wisconsin
    Posts
    4,974

    Reevaluate Everything - Apparently Things Need Fixing

    Quote Originally Posted by 3DD View Post
    Oh yeah. The house is about 1700, with a room above the garage, and this room pretty much gets the sun all day. The A/C takes about 3+ hrs to cool the house from 85 to 80 on 95 degrees days, which I think is too long, and on the 95+ days, the A/C can't seem to the temp low enough so it's always on.
    Edit: wrote response as
    So the compressor is Rated 40,000.

    The house is a moderate 1700-sf.

    The unit runs all the time at 95-F OAT.
    That does NOT mean that, if 95-OAT were the summer design, that the system is delivering its supposed nominal 3.5-nominal tons of cooling, or that the system is delivering what a load calc would say!

    First, I am willing to bet there are some things keeping that system from delivering its nominal tonnage rating. Be sure that the duct system is thoroughly analyzed, & if not up to specs, brought to specs.

    Second, as shophound has hounded on elsewhere, the home needs to be examined & Energy Conservation updated. The entire home conditions & the HVAC system are an inseparable integrated system.

    You might end up with a 2.5-ton system doing the job. The Rated around 4-ton system may only be delivering 2 or 2.5-ton of cooling, in a home that needs Energy Consumption fixes over the garage..(?)

    Run a psychrometric on the required data, so you know what the system is actually delivering at those conditions.

    Edit: Well, just rambling now. - Darrell
    Last edited by udarrell; 08-08-2008 at 04:20 PM. Reason: A Post while I was typing - 40,000-btuh compressor

  6. #45
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    27
    [QUOTE=the dangling wrangler;1954183]
    Quote Originally Posted by beenthere View Post

    But that should be a 46,000 BTU R22 air conditioning compressor.[/QUOTE

    I'll go out on a limb and call this a ? ton.
    Good guess.

  7. #46
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    27
    [QUOTE=powell;1954195]
    Quote Originally Posted by the dangling wrangler View Post

    He was mistaken when he wrote AH5?46E It would have been an AV5?46E and the BOM number on the top line of the tag would have been AV169RT which is a 46K btuh.

    He has what I posted earlier.
    The top line is definitely AH301FT-077. The "?" is the letter I couldn't make of. Sorry.

  8. #47
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    27
    Quote Originally Posted by powell View Post
    AH301FT-077 is all that's needed, it's the BOM number.
    The model is AH5540E

    The compressor you have is rated at:
    40,000 btuh @+45 sst @ 130 CT.
    208/230-1
    R22
    Thanks powell! So it's a 3.5 tons?

  9. #48
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    27
    Quote Originally Posted by udarrell View Post
    Edit: wrote response as
    So the compressor is Rated 40,000.

    The house is a moderate 1700-sf.

    The unit runs all the time at 95-F OAT.
    That does NOT mean that, if 95-OAT were the summer design, that the system is delivering its supposed nominal 3.5-nominal tons of cooling, or that the system is delivering what a load calc would say!

    First, I am willing to bet there are some things keeping that system from delivering its nominal tonnage rating. Be sure that the duct system is thoroughly analyzed, & if not up to specs, brought to specs.

    Second, as shophound has hounded on elsewhere, the home needs to be examined & Energy Conservation updated. The entire home conditions & the HVAC system are an inseparable integrated system.

    You might end up with a 2.5-ton system doing the job. The Rated around 4-ton system may only be delivering 2 or 2.5-ton of cooling, in a home that needs Energy Consumption fixes over the garage..(?)

    Run a psychrometric on the required data, so you know what the system is actually delivering at those conditions.

    Edit: Well, just rambling now. - Darrell
    2.5? Really?

  10. #49
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    DC Metro Area (MD)
    Posts
    3,371
    The nominal capacity of the system isn't always the delivered capacity. Other things can affect capacity, such as leaking ductwork for example, or dirty coils.

  11. #50
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    27
    I really appreciate all you experts helping out on this, even the dangling wrangler. It's just that the more A/C guys I got, the more confused I get. The unit is over 15 years old, so I do want to get it replaced.

  12. #51
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,910
    [QUOTE=the dangling wrangler;1954183]
    Quote Originally Posted by beenthere View Post

    But that should be a 46,000 BTU R22 air conditioning compressor.[/QUOTE

    I'll go out on a limb and call this a ? ton.
    LOL.

    4 ton.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  13. #52
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,910
    Quote Originally Posted by 3DD View Post
    I really appreciate all you experts helping out on this, even the dangling wrangler. It's just that the more A/C guys I got, the more confused I get. The unit is over 15 years old, so I do want to get it replaced.
    Thats why its better to do a load calc. Instead of just replacing with what is already there.
    Then you can see what areas of your home you may be able to make improvements to. To decrease the size A/C you need, and save money both on equipment cost, and operating cost.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event