Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 27 to 39 of 61
  1. #27
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    27
    OK guys, I don't want no trouble here. I'm just trying find out what I current have so I won't get something that's oversized.

  2. #28
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    11,873
    Quote Originally Posted by 3DD View Post
    OK guys, I don't want no trouble here. I'm just trying find out what I current have so I won't get something that's oversized.
    Well, we're figuring that out right now. It's going to be between 1 1/2 & 5 tons. Close enough? Oh, I hope you don't think this is a heated debate. It isn't. Not even close.

  3. #29
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,090
    Quote Originally Posted by the dangling wrangler View Post
    Oh, I hope you don't think this is a heated debate. It isn't. Not even close.
    ROFL.

    This isn't even close to a warm debate on this site.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  4. #30
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,090
    Quote Originally Posted by 3DD View Post
    I'm just trying find out what I current have so I won't get something that's oversized.

    Ok.

    So why not measure up the house, and do a load calc on it, to make sure you put the right size in.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  5. #31
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    27
    Quote Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
    Ok.

    So why not measure up the house, and do a load calc on it, to make sure you put the right size in.
    This is actually funny. I've gotten 4 A/C guys, and none of them offered to do a load calculation.

  6. #32
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    27
    Quote Originally Posted by the dangling wrangler View Post
    Well, we're figuring that out right now. It's going to be between 1 1/2 & 5 tons. Close enough? Oh, I hope you don't think this is a heated debate. It isn't. Not even close.
    OK. Let's see if I could get a model number off the compressor, and we can turn up the heat a bit more. Could it be a 3 or 4. The time it takes to cool (or almost cool) the house, it ain't a 5...

  7. #33
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,090
    Quote Originally Posted by 3DD View Post
    This is actually funny. I've gotten 4 A/C guys, and none of them offered to do a load calculation.
    And did they give any idea of the size?

    So far you told us nothing about your house either.
    Weatehr the old one kept up or not. Did it cycle on and off, at design temp.
    Was your house damp that you had to set your stat lower to get the humidity out.


    If you want, you can do your own load calc.
    http://hvaccomputer.com/talkref.asp
    And find out what size you need.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  8. #34
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,090
    Quote Originally Posted by 3DD View Post
    This is actually funny. I've gotten 4 A/C guys, and none of them offered to do a load calculation.
    And did they give any idea of the size?

    So far you told us nothing about your house either.
    Weatehr the old one kept up or not. Did it cycle on and off, at design temp.
    Was your house damp that you had to set your stat lower to get the humidity out.


    If you want, you can do your own load calc.
    http://hvaccomputer.com/talkref.asp
    And find out what size you need.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  9. #35
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    11,873
    Quote Originally Posted by 3DD View Post
    OK. Let's see if I could get a model number off the compressor, and we can turn up the heat a bit more. Could it be a 3 or 4. The time it takes to cool (or almost cool) the house, it ain't a 5...
    I've run across some units that the nomenclature tag was sun washed & the compressors were so rusted over you couldn't even read it .But, you might get lucky and only have to look and, there it is. Your service contractors should know what alternatives to take to get this information. They should be embarrassed if you have to tell them how to find this. It's not all that hard. Time consuming, yes.

  10. #36
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    27
    Quote Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
    And did they give any idea of the size?

    So far you told us nothing about your house either.
    Weatehr the old one kept up or not. Did it cycle on and off, at design temp.
    Was your house damp that you had to set your stat lower to get the humidity out.


    If you want, you can do your own load calc.
    http://hvaccomputer.com/talkref.asp
    And find out what size you need.
    Oh yeah. The house is about 1700, with a room above the garage, and this room pretty much gets the sun all day. The A/C takes about 3+ hrs to cool the house from 85 to 80 on 95 degrees days, which I think is too long, and on the 95+ days, the A/C can't seem to the temp low enough so it's always on.

  11. #37
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    27
    Quote Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
    And did they give any idea of the size?

    So far you told us nothing about your house either.
    Weatehr the old one kept up or not. Did it cycle on and off, at design temp.
    Was your house damp that you had to set your stat lower to get the humidity out.


    If you want, you can do your own load calc.
    http://hvaccomputer.com/talkref.asp
    And find out what size you need.
    And 3 A/C guys say 4 tons, and 1 recommends a 5.

  12. #38
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    27
    Quote Originally Posted by the dangling wrangler View Post
    I've run across some units that the nomenclature tag was sun washed & the compressors were so rusted over you couldn't even read it .But, you might get lucky and only have to look and, there it is. Your service contractors should know what alternatives to take to get this information. They should be embarrassed if you have to tell them how to find this. It's not all that hard. Time consuming, yes.
    I got this off the compressor, and I really appreciate your help trying to decode this for me:

    AH301 FT-077
    E L 2 6c 995131 AH5?46E
    V200 Hx50 PH1

  13. #39
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,090
    Between the AH and 5, there should be another letter.
    Between the 5 and the 4, it was probably another 5.

    But that should be a 46,000 BTU R22 air conditioning compressor.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event