Finding Out Tonnage from Compressor
Results 1 to 13 of 61

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    27

    Finding Out Tonnage from Compressor

    Hi Guys,

    Is it possible to find out the tonnage of the AC from the compressor?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    11,847
    Yes, it is. Can you not use the info on the unit itself?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    3,103
    Yes. Take the first two numbers in the model # and divide by 18 while touching your nose with the index finger of your left hand and saying "rubber baby buggy bumpers" as fast as you can.

    Then call a qualified service organization.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    27
    Quote Originally Posted by BergerMech Rob View Post
    Yes. Take the first two numbers in the model # and divide by 18 while touching your nose with the index finger of your left hand and saying "rubber baby buggy bumpers" as fast as you can.

    Then call a qualified service organization.
    Unfortunately, the 2 A/C guys I tried couldn't find out the tonnage.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    west point, ga.
    Posts
    328
    If the techs don't know they didn't try.If I can't tell I have plenty of phone #'s to different supply houses and dealers.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    4,294
    The BTU capacity of the compressor may or may not give you the nominal tonnage of the unit.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    11,847
    Quote Originally Posted by 3DD View Post
    Unfortunately, the 2 A/C guys I tried couldn't find out the tonnage.
    OK, plan "B" would be to look for a model # on the evap coil.JimJ is correct but, you can get real close.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,584
    Ok.

    If the compressor is 22,500 BTUs. And the evap coil is 30,000 BTUs.

    What size A/C is it?
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    27
    Quote Originally Posted by the dangling wrangler View Post
    Yes, it is. Can you not use the info on the unit itself?
    The label on the unit is no longer there.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Houston,Tx.
    Posts
    15,774
    Quote Originally Posted by 3DD View Post
    Hi Guys,

    Is it possible to find out the tonnage of the AC from the compressor?
    I carry a scale if it's a two ton it should weigh close to four thousand pounds I believe.
    __________________________________________________ _______________________
    “Experience is a hard teacher because she gives the test first, the lesson afterwards". - Vernon Law

    "Never let success go to your head, and never let failure go to your heart". - Unknown

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event