Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Replace Filter Warning

I am a newbie on this forum so I will do my best here. I have a Carrier Infinity Series 15.0+ SEER 2 Speed Heat Pump with the variable speed air handler and the Infinity Control Programmable Thermostat. My issue is with the Air Filter warning message. It seems that every few hours, I will get a message saying the air filter needs to be replaced. The contractor installed a permanent filter, one of the blue open fiber style filters, and said that I should take it out and clean it every few months. He also stated not to use a high performance air filter because it would restrict the air flow. I have taken the filter out and cleaned it and have bought the cheap disposable filters to use in the interim. I still get this message constantly. Is there an airflow sensor adjustment that would eliminate this error? I believe the real problem is that my duct system does not have the capacity for this HVAC system, but I cannot afford to replace the duct system at this time.

The system works beautifully otherwise. It keeps the house cool and does not run constantly like the old system. It has been in place for about 1 year and have had no other problems with the unit. Thanks for any input.

CAll your contractor.

He can adjust the filter timer in the installer set-up.

sounds like thermostat programming is not set up correctly

Did he put a bigger unit in, then what you had before.

Do you get the warning in both first and second stage, or just second stage.
    Contractor locator map

How-to-apply-for-Professional

How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

Replace Filter Warning

In response to the thermostat questions, the thermostat has been setup to warn me every 3 months. I have checked that setting and it is correct. That does not explain why it tells me every few hours.