Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 40 to 52 of 57
  1. #40
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    1,886
    Quote Originally Posted by RoBoTeq View Post
    Actually, RoBoTeq is a syndicated Internet program utilizing several outsourced foreign posters from various African nations, India, Pakistan and Russia.
    Some people never change
    Not what it use to be

  2. #41
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    66,803
    Quote Originally Posted by meoberry View Post
    BY THE WAY I HEARD THAT STUFF IS EXTREMELY CANCEROUS.
    Your thinking of the old PCB filled ones.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  3. #42
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    NW Florida
    Posts
    707

    Hmm Thanx

    Quote Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
    Your thinking of the old PCB filled ones.
    Didn't know they had changed the goo just as sticky. When did they change it. I bet there is some old units with the old goo in it.

  4. #43
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Eastern PA
    Posts
    68,852
    Quote Originally Posted by meoberry View Post
    Didn't know they had changed the goo just as sticky. When did they change it. I bet there is some old units with the old goo in it.
    The old PCBs were not gooey. Old timers would take apart old capacitors for line transformers and use the pcb coolant to wash their hands with. Basically, the old pcb coolant was heavy water.
    Government is a disease...
    ...masquerading as its own cure…
    Ecclesiastes 10:2 NIV


  5. #44
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    NW Florida
    Posts
    707
    Quote Originally Posted by RoBoTeq View Post
    The old PCBs were not gooey. Old timers would take apart old capacitors for line transformers and use the pcb coolant to wash their hands with. Basically, the old pcb coolant was heavy water.
    The old ones you are talking about was the big hugh ones from about 30 years ago. Right?

  6. #45
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    66,803
    there are till some of them in 30 plus year old units, working as good today as they did when brand new.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  7. #46
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Waffleville
    Posts
    10,339
    they went from PCB to peanut oil
    If Guns Kill People, Do Pencils Misspell Words?

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=An2a1...eature=related

    Before we work on artificial intelligence why don't we do something about natural stupidity?

  8. #47
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    RTP North Carolina
    Posts
    81
    Quote Originally Posted by HeyBob View Post
    I question the quality of those caps. Seems like everyone we installed has gone bad and had to be replaced. I have banned them at our shop!
    Thats interesting, I have been using them for years now without any failures. Based off my own personal experience I have to say my recommendation still stands. I would be interested in seeing any hard data you have on the subject though.

    Quote Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
    For the cost of 2 or 3 of them. You can buy a good supply of caps that will cover you.
    And you can alwyas put 2 standard ones together to make the right one, for less then one of those.
    Like I was saying, they are definately more expensive than a regular cap, so they shouldn't be replacing your usual stock, but much like an Emerson emergency motor, I think all techs should have some universal replacement parts for situations when the supply house is closed.

  9. #48
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Northern Virginia
    Posts
    434
    Question regarding the MFD of a capacitor. A newer Armstrong unit 5yrs old mod# scu10a30a-3c had a 35+5 370volt cap and a hard start kit from the factory. The customer stated the cooling stopped one night. Found the Cap bad. I didnt have a 35+5 but had a 45+5 on the truck. I replace it with a 45+5 370v with out the hard start kit and it fired right up. Today i returned with the 35+5 370 cap and put it in place of the 45+5 370 and it didnt work. Is that because i removed the hard start kit?

    I though hard start kits were for low voltages and if the compressor was locked up it would help break it loose. So why would it come installed from the factory? Does any of this make sense?

    Thank you.

  10. #49
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    66,803
    Put the hard start back on.

    The 45, through the phase off enough it could start.
    The 35 doesn't
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  11. #50
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Northern Virginia
    Posts
    434
    What does this mean?
    The 45, through the phase off enough it could start.
    The 35 doesn't

    Why did the manufacture install a hard start from the factory?

  12. #51
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    24
    Quote Originally Posted by sokoservices View Post
    What does this mean?
    The 45, through the phase off enough it could start.
    The 35 doesn't

    Why did the manufacture install a hard start from the factory?
    Yea i was thinking the same thing myself, and maybe the manufacture is using a starting aid because they are using a cheapo compressor, or one thats undersized h/p rating for the system size (save money on overstock)? and from some other posts in this thread-- as far as hard start kits you can use them on brand new equipment for a compressor that is having trouble starting for whatever reason it may be (high starting head due to vertical lift, brown out power grids during peak service times, ect.)

  13. #52
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    66,803
    It most likely needs one to start.

    Some manufacturers use then to get their efficiency rating.

    Capacitors, throw off the phase of the electric. So its not at 180°.

    Using a higher or lower rated cap changes how far teh phase is thrown out.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event