Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Confused Did not have the right cap. in truck? help

I went on my monthly pm service this Fri. and its out far away from any a/c supply. Well i found out one of the compressors wasn't coming on, so i checked it out and it was a bloated capacitor, checked all my other electrical for tightness everything was good, i had just recently replaced the comp, the cap, and the cool contactor. so maybe it as a bad cap or something. OK so i didn't have a 35/440 in my van but, i did have 35/370 and a start kit. i thought i give it try and it worked. i have never tried it before i always replace a bad cap with the correct capacitor. it is only temp. until i go back out there in a week or two. Has anyone tried this before? Could this cause a problem? The place is like 2 hours away in the middle of nowhere. well thanks for your help guys. oh and the charge was good.

440 volts is 440 volts. I'm not a pro but you should up your post count and apply for pro status and the pro forum can help I'm sure. Not any tech talk on the resi side.

Shouldn't do any harm other then not starting under certain conditions, but you do need to replace it.

When you restock your truck, only stock with 440v capacitors. You can go up on voltage, but not down. A 440v capacitor will be a little better on a compressor designed to be able to start with a 370v capacitor.
    Government is a disease...
    ...masquerading as its own cure…
    Ecclesiastes 10:2 NIV

thanks roboteq, yeah i know about the 440 being better but the lead tech gets angry and snitches to the boss, if we don't install 370 if that's what the comp calls for. He's an ******* sometimes. well thanks man ill change it out when I'm out there again.

For me to become a pro member i have to post 15 time right? well that's what I'm trying to do.

Roboteq, As you know im still being schooled in the arts of HVAC and I believe this is what I went over last phase.