Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Question How long for refrigerant to cool down?

I'm a noob to this forum, so go easy on me.

I have a Comfortmaker 2-ton unit for my upstairs. The compressor went out yesterday and I had it replaced today.

My question is this: once the unit is recharged with refrigerant, how long should it take for the unit to cool the refrigerant down and start cooling the house down any appreciable amount?

Thanks for your help!

Matt

Wasn't the tech there to make sure all things checked out normal?

If he did, it depends on what ambient inside temp there is when starting AC.

Your return duct is returning inside hot air as well as everything inside your house
    being "hot" right now.

Yes, he was there, and everything checked out ok after he installed it and recharged the system. I just wanted to know how long it should reasonably take for the refrigerant line to get cold when recharged with warm refrigerant. The refrigerant has to get cold prior to cooling the house down, correct?

You should start feeling cool air pretty quickly now. Are you concerned you are not feeling cool air after 5-7 minutes? Everything is heated up after for the time being, ductwork, drywall, sticks of furniture...everything. Give it some time.

No, I'm concerned that the refrigerant line from the outside unit to the air handler in the attic is not getting very cold yet.

Prior to the compressor failure, the refrigerant line would be very cold to the touch and have a lot of condensation on it. It has been on for approximately 2 hours since the tech left, and it's still only cool to the touch at this point.

I realize the air in the house will take some time as it heated up all day, but the refrigerant should be getting cool by now, right?

Quote Originally Posted by chewreck View Post
    No, I'm concerned that the refrigerant line from the outside unit to the air handler in the attic is not getting very cold yet.