Issues of using a sealed building cavity as duct instead of traditional ductwork
Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Issues of using a sealed building cavity as duct instead of traditional ductwork

I am a building and solar contractor in Central Florida. Our desire to to build zero energy homes and we've experimented with various ways to improve efficiency.

We are getting ready to build a duplex for ourselves that will be very tightly sealed between living space and attic. We are even actually considering drywalling the ceiling before building the interior walls so that the drywall envelope is not broken where every wall is located. (The electrical contractor is the main guy affected if we do this but we would leave a sheet or two of drywall off in the middle of the rooms to make it easier to wire. The only thing the plumber has to do in the ceiling is run his stacks through to the roof.) We want to avoid putting ductwork into the attic for the obvious reasons. On an 8' ceiling it gets challenging to put ductwork in conditioned space as you can't drop your ceiling below 7' in those areas where your duct work would go. The floor plan is designed so that we would be able to hit the entire apartment with air by lowering the ceiling in a hallway and one bathroom.

So the thought is this. . . Since we will have a (virtually) completely thermally sealed separation between attic and living area at the 8' ceiling level, why don't we just hook the A/C supply to this cavity (between the 7' and 8' sheetrock. We would then penetrate the cavity on the adjoining rooms that are 8' tall with an appropriately sized register so that the air is adequately and uniformly circulated (at least that is the goal).