Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    636

    Pop Quiz: What happens when you flood a 1916 historic home...

    (Think Asbestos)













    This is what happens when I take photos of things OTHER than bad A/C installations:
    Arizona. Photographed: http://community.webshots.com/album/563042864aIFjqw

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    636
    The damage wasn't that great.
    But. What drywall company in their right mind is going to cut that ceiling down and let the insulation fall all over the house.
    This is what happens when I take photos of things OTHER than bad A/C installations:
    Arizona. Photographed: http://community.webshots.com/album/563042864aIFjqw

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Eugene, Oregon
    Posts
    1,209
    Ah, another failure due to crappy equipment
    Proud supporter of Springfield Millers and Oregon Ducks.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    5,460
    Quote Originally Posted by millerman View Post
    Ah, another failure due to crappy equipment
    LOL! I don't think too highly of that POS noisy unit either. But I think he showed us the leaks were caused by small things left by the installers.


    What part of town was this in Rifter?
    True Heavy Metal Geek

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    4,203
    Why in the hell would anyone put a RTU on a historic home? Thats just dumb. But than again a RTU on any house is just getto to begin with

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Darby, PA
    Posts
    526
    Probably would have been easier to set a unit at grade and use floor registers, or a split system in attic with secondary pan under AHU. That way any water issues confined to unit.
    Psalm 51:10, 12

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Pluto
    Posts
    983
    Hello mini-splits!
    Not as lean, not as mean, but I'm still a hardcore, ass-kicking, hard charging Marine! Oohrah!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    34
    wow....too much to ask for to seal any penetrations properly i guess.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Davie, FL
    Posts
    211
    Quote Originally Posted by Tiger93rsl View Post
    Why in the hell would anyone put a RTU on a historic home? Thats just dumb. But than again a RTU on any house is just getto to begin with
    One time I serviced a house with the condenser on the roof. Was pretty weird if you ask me...

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kansas City, Kansas
    Posts
    476
    we have tons with condensers on the roofs here. and i even have serviced a couple with RTU's on the ground beside the house. Ghetto...at best.
    Thomas aka...spymoocow
    Quote Originally Posted by garya505 View Post
    Ah, sorry I thought that's what he meant. An inch shouldn't make that much difference (at least that's what I always tell my wife).

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event