Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Knowledgeable HVAC contractors a dying breed?

This company installed my Carrier HDR38 2 Ton and Perfomance 80 in my small
    887 sq.ft condominum. They are an authorized Carrier installer.

Physically, they did a good job installing everything. However, when it comes
    to the final part, like assesing loud noise due to possibly undersized flex ducting,
    they are kinda "blow my mind" clueless and just don't want to deal with it.

I spent the weekend researching ducting sizes and have pretty much determined that my 8" ducting (one takes ony a 12" long elbow directly to my living room vent) is most likely causing what I consider to be noise that can be lessened. I'm no expert, but even rule of thumb says that's why the inordinate amount of air pushing out and the ocean roar (up close to vent you have to squint your eyes the rush of air is so strong).

I had them come out and got basically no help, no assement of my ducting, just some advice to use Dynomat to help absorb sound on the closet unit.
    They simply weren't interested with what I thought was excessive air flow and ocean roar sound. "Turn up the TV" is about what they care.
    They know I am pleased with the physical installation, I didn't lose my cool.

I'm going to call other AC companies, with techs that are willing to do technical assesments and give me trained advice, not just "look and listen."

Those other companies will probably charge too. I'll be paying untill I come upon an HVAC contractor who takes pride in the profession. Wish me luck.

Good luck. Ya feel better now?

Ya wanna friggin hug too?
    Government is a disease...
    ...masquerading as its own cure…
    Ecclesiastes 10:2 NIV

No hug. Get me another beer.

Jeesh, the entire duct work is such a short run and could be changed out fairly easy.

Having just a 18" run with 8" ducting directly from the plenum in the attic right to