Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 26
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Lexington, NC
    Posts
    5,122

    R22 phase out-compressors?

    I know that the equipment will stop being made in 2010, but I am not sure if replacement compressors will still be available and be manufactured. They still make R12 compressors don't they?
    There will be a lot of pissed off people if every time a compressor goes out they have to change out their lineset, unit and coil. Money is to be made!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    33
    You will still be able to get parts for R-22 units after 2010. Expensive they will be.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    439
    While the price of R-22 will go up on 2010, and the main reason is no new R-22 will be made.

    The parts and equipment will still be there for a few years, but its just gonna cost more. And what R-22 that is sold will most likely be stuff that was recycled, once all the virgin stocks are depleted.
    When you do a job, Always make it easier for the next guy, because you may be the next guy working on it.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    66,758
    IN 2010 R22 may go. And R410A may sky rocket as the demand for it doubles.

    R22 compressors will still be made, and available for many years yet. And they won't be anymore expensive then an R410A compressor.

    I can get R12 compressors for the same basic price as an R134A compressor.


    Any contractor that tells you mechanical parts for R22 systems are going to be expensive, is just using scare tatics.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    58
    r-22 will be manufactured until 2020, but the amount that is made will be reduced. in 2010 they will stop making equipment with r-22. the price of r-410A is actually coming down right now because the patent recently expired. the price of r-22 will soon exceed the price of r-410A

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Round Rock
    Posts
    3,402
    I would think that the cost to manufacture an R22 vs. R410 compressor will still be very close. Only horse's arse's would try to gouge somebody, risking losing business, most in this industry aren't stupid. You have to take into account that most of the time when a compressor croaks and it isn't in warranty, the unit gets replaced and most compressors will run for a while, its a low percentage that die. And just because you change from 22 to 410 does NOT mean you have to change the lineset.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    281
    Quote Originally Posted by nchvac View Post
    I know that the equipment will stop being made in 2010, but I am not sure if replacement compressors will still be available and be manufactured. They still make R12 compressors don't they?
    There will be a lot of pissed off people if every time a compressor goes out they have to change out their lineset, unit and coil. Money is to be made!
    As several have said R22 compressors will be available. The manufactures have to have compressors ( warranty parts) available until the warranty period is up. It doesn't mean they will be readily available, but they'll be available. Like many HVAC parts, as the demand dwindles supply houses will still carry them, just not as many as they once did. I still keep parts for units that haven't been made since the late 80's and early 90's but that shelf space shrinks every year. Heck I've got NOS parts that haven't been made for years, original control boards, defrost boards, etc etc..
    whaaaaa, you let all the smoke out

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    11,540

    Why couldn't you just use a 410 compressor on 22 ?

    .
    Why couldn't you just use a 410 compressor on 22 ?
    PHM
    --------
    The conventional view serves to protect us from the painful job of thinking.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Davie, FL
    Posts
    211
    Quote Originally Posted by dsfitzgerald7 View Post
    r-22 will be manufactured until 2020, but the amount that is made will be reduced. in 2010 they will stop making equipment with r-22. the price of r-410A is actually coming down right now because the patent recently expired. the price of r-22 will soon exceed the price of r-410A

    Its just about there already. I am paying about the same per jug of 410a as i am for R-22

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Round Rock
    Posts
    3,402
    Quote Originally Posted by Poodle Head Mikey View Post
    .
    Why couldn't you just use a 410 compressor on 22 ?
    I'm hoping you're joking. Otherwise how did you become a professional member?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    4,512
    Quote Originally Posted by Poodle Head Mikey View Post
    .
    Why couldn't you just use a 410 compressor on 22 ?
    possible ,

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Lexington, NC
    Posts
    5,122
    Quote Originally Posted by catmanacman View Post
    possible ,
    Different Oil is the biggest reason. If I'm not mistaken, 22 uses mineral oil and 410a uses an hydroscopic oil that absorbs moisture rapidly.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Lexington, NC
    Posts
    5,122
    Quote Originally Posted by bmathews View Post
    I would think that the cost to manufacture an R22 vs. R410 compressor will still be very close. Only horse's arse's would try to gouge somebody, risking losing business, most in this industry aren't stupid. You have to take into account that most of the time when a compressor croaks and it isn't in warranty, the unit gets replaced and most compressors will run for a while, its a low percentage that die. And just because you change from 22 to 410 does NOT mean you have to change the lineset.
    Perhaps we can elaborate on this a little. The two refrigerants use a different oil, so you have to either change the lineset or flush the old one with something like R-11. Those flush kits are about 75 bucks now. Linesets are high, but they are scraping high too! Is there some other way that I don't know about?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event