Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Mig Welder

Mig Welder

OK I know you get what you pay for, but at this price......

http://www.harborfreight.com/cpi/cta...emnumber=55525

Tell me what you think.
    I don't have to do much welding, but I had three curbs come in that need to be adapted and I am in a hurry. One needs the supply and return on the other end(these are pitched curbs) and two are pitched the wrong direction. I will also need to make up some blk iron exhaust duct from hoods to roof mounted up blast fan units. So it looks like I need a small wire feed welder, and after looking around I have to say that the duty cycle on this one is better than Hobart, Craftsman, or Clark in the same range.
    I r the king of the world!...or at least I get to stand on the roof and look down on the rest of yall

I have no experience with that name brand of welder. But from the items I have purchased from there, the off brands are pretty much junk. I would stick with a name brand.
    I never let schooling interfere with my education... Mark Twain

It has a slightly better duty cycle than the 115v welders from the good manufacturers, which you would expect from a 230v welder...
    Its duty cycle isn't as good as the 230v welders made by the big boys, and it draws more amps.
    The heart of a wire feed welder is the transformer, that harbor freight one likely has a very crappy transformer. Probably a poopy gun too.

It could be ok for occasional use, but see if you can find specs on what its lowest output amperage is. If it won't dial down to the 25-30A range, it is useless for welding sheet metal, and if it won't go below 50A, it is pretty useless for anything else that is under 1/8".

I used to have a Hobart Handler 140, awesome performance for a 115v welder, could dial it down to stitch up a patch in a car fender, then turn around and dial it up to single pass weld 1/4" steel.
    Unfortunately someone decided they needed it more than me.