Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 14 to 21 of 21
  1. #14
    Is this what you want?

    EDITops thats ethernet/IP
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #15
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Nevada
    Posts
    58
    FYI
    I have set this up using a JACE 6 with a LON card and driver, A BACnet server driver, and a fair amount of programming in Tridium AX. In the end it was well worth the effort. The project involved Trane Intelli Pack rooftops with LCI-I cards, Delta VAV controllers, and a ORCA View front end. Despite Trane's best efforts to be difficult, I still created a seamless integration.

    Best Regards,
    boardsmoker

  3. #16
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1
    Freddy_B,

    The device you refer to is the one PicNik already has, and converts the BACnet on LON signal into a BACnet on IP (not to be confused with BACnet Ethernet which I understand to be significantly different).

    PicNik,

    I understand Siemens US are looking at a BACnet / MSTP PX based device in the future, and there may therefore be a Siemens solution to your problem. Don't hold your breath though, not sure when. In the meantime I will asl on the Euro DAS site to see if anyone there knows of a device.

  4. #17
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Shreveport, Louisiana
    Posts
    2,329
    Quote Originally Posted by picnik View Post
    Sorry, I worded the origional question wrong. Looking for a router rather than a gateway.

    I have got a plug in card for an inverter that talks BACNet over MS/TP. I want to get it into a Siemens PX network that talks BACNet over LON, i.e. BACNet protocol but uses LON cabling. (Don't ask me why they'd develop it like that, as I've yet to get a decent answer from Siemens Tech Support, but it does appear in the BACNet standard as a valid transport media).

    BACNet mstp and lon uses the same communication cabling. 2 conductor 22 awg wire.
    BACNet and LON are two different communication protocols, so how do you talk bacnet over LON?
    UA Local 141

  5. #18
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    NW Ohio
    Posts
    949
    Quote Originally Posted by berg2666 View Post
    BACNet mstp and lon uses the same communication cabling. 2 conductor 22 awg wire.
    BACNet and LON are two different communication protocols, so how do you talk bacnet over LON?
    I'd bet Loytec can do it!

  6. #19
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    9,564
    Quote Originally Posted by berg2666 View Post
    BACNet mstp and lon uses the same communication cabling. 2 conductor 22 awg wire.
    BACNet and LON are two different communication protocols, so how do you talk bacnet over LON?
    LON is a full 7 layer OSI so it can transfer bacnet.

    Therefore you can have bacnet/IP, bacnet/MSTP and even bacnet/LON. What you can't have is LON/bacnet, because bacnet does not have this capability. Bacnet is not a full 7 layer OSI implementation.

    And yes as somebody suggested, Loytec can transfer those packets. So can others. However, that doesn't really help you.

  7. #20
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    NW Ohio
    Posts
    949
    Quote Originally Posted by sysint View Post
    LON is a full 7 layer OSI so it can transfer bacnet.

    Therefore you can have bacnet/IP, bacnet/MSTP and even bacnet/LON. What you can't have is LON/bacnet, because bacnet does not have this capability. Bacnet is not a full 7 layer OSI implementation.

    And yes as somebody suggested, Loytec can transfer those packets. So can others. However, that doesn't really help you.
    yaaaaaaaaaaa!

  8. #21
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    151
    I suppose with Siemens Europe the only company doing BACNet/LON and their headend unable to scan a BACNet network for other devices, it makes it almost proprietory .

    Anyway, thanks guys. I will have to wait for siemens to produce their own. I won't hold my breath as its unlikely they'll make one till they have an MS/TP device to sell (why promote interoperability!!!)
    -----------------------------------------------------
    Don't be a stupid dwarf. It's not big and it's not clever!

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event