Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 20
  1. #1

    460v versus 480V

    Forgive the newbie post, but I'd like to know if HVAC equipment rated for 460V (Like the Liebert DS3 units) can be hooked up to 480V panels. Our datacenter currently has 208V 3ph power and for additional cap-ex we can get one of our panel feeds converted to 480V 3ph (which would drive twice the power over the same wire size which is desirable). Is there enough tolerance in 460V equipment to allow a connection to 480V? Are they interchangeable?

    Thanks in advance!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Frognot TX
    Posts
    836
    You should be alright, almost all equipment has a voltage allowance of +- 10% but it would be safest to look at the data plate on the machine, but 460-480 are considered the same

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Bennington, Vermont U.S.A.
    Posts
    13,864
    Quote Originally Posted by Catpower View Post
    You should be alright, almost all equipment has a voltage allowance of +- 10% but it would be safest to look at the data plate on the machine, but 460-480 are considered the same

    I'll second that! .......do we want to bring it up for a vote?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    11,847
    Quote Originally Posted by benncool View Post
    I'll second that! .......do we want to bring it up for a vote?
    OK. I vote 460/480 is the same.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    windy city
    Posts
    4,426
    agreed!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    SW Florida
    Posts
    1,260
    480v is referred to as "distribution voltage"

    460v is referred to as "utilization voltage"

    480v is off the pole and 460v is at the motor.

    Same thing, different places

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    574
    Where did the missing 20 volts go?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Soudern Kal-e-phone-e-ya
    Posts
    277
    Quote Originally Posted by cyro View Post
    Where did the missing 20 volts go?
    Im holding them hostage!


    I learned this lesson years ago........when we tried to hook up a Liebert unit to a 208-230 distrubution panel.......lets just say that "it didnt work".
    (460 volt unit)

    I have heard some wierd ones relating to this.....most wrong.

    "uh, yeah, 480 is just 3 legs of 240." WRONG!

    "you need a bucking transformer to get your 460". WRONG!


    ah, the wonders of the electron........

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    90
    Im holding them hostage!
    Best answer yet.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Barrie, Ontario
    Posts
    4,622
    Youse guys and yer weird 460V, but agreed +-10%.

    208V is one of our remnant industrial voltages. All the newer stuff in 600V now.

    Lots of 1ph stuff built 230 comes here and building supplies are 208/3/60 Just means the control voltage is 20 to 22V. Most equip has tap transformers so just change the tap. I've seen the Magicpacs as low as 19V and they don't have a tap trans. 230 only. Had to change tons of them to tap.
    Is this a Fabreze moment? C.Y.D. I'm voting white elephant. 2’.
    My competition are my best salespeople!

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    windy city
    Posts
    4,426
    hey guys - dumb question. a long time ago when my hair wasn't grey, worked on a building with recip chillers. everything was 480 - 3 ph. all legs across were 480. 2 legs to ground were 280. 1 leg was 0 to ground. every piece of equipment operated w/o electrical problems. asked several sparkies, either got the deer in the headlite looks, or the usual i dunno. anyone ever experience this?

  12. #12
    Wow, thanks for the speedy replies. If I didn't know better I'd think you guys were all sitting around playing Solitaire and reading HVAC=Talk forums all day long.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Dallas,Texas
    Posts
    4,948
    Quote Originally Posted by heavymetaldad View Post
    hey guys - dumb question. a long time ago when my hair wasn't grey, worked on a building with recip chillers. everything was 480 - 3 ph. all legs across were 480. 2 legs to ground were 280. 1 leg was 0 to ground. every piece of equipment operated w/o electrical problems. asked several sparkies, either got the deer in the headlite looks, or the usual i dunno. anyone ever experience this?

    Corner grounded delta. This can be done with 240 volts also. There is no neutral, the "0" voltage phase is grounded like a nuetral and so reads 0 to ground but line voltage to another phase.

    They don't use this very often anymore.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event