AC Coolant Line Loops
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 25
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Evergreen Park (Chicago)
    Posts
    19

    AC Coolant Line Loops

    The far AC unit in the photos (6 ton, I believe) makes 5 coolant line u-turns under this deck before it heads up the wall to the 3rd floor. What's the reason?
    Attached Images Attached Images   

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    MN
    Posts
    2,677
    Now that's different. I guess they had some extra copper laying around. Maybe thought that they needed a minimum line length. no idea.
    You can't fix stupid

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Dallas
    Posts
    189
    Bonus loop for copper thieves. Pipe sweating exercise at your expense.

    Certainly doesn't add to flow performance.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,631
    Maybe its a secondary condener loop to make up for the poor air flow the steps create.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Dallas
    Posts
    189
    Anti-SEER Reactor Cell

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    DC Metro Area (MD)
    Posts
    3,367
    Maybe their idea of an oil trap?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sacramento
    Posts
    32

    Another Q

    Is there any conceivable reason to install the units under the STAIRS (lowest overhead, least airflow?) instead of under the deck (i.e. 4' to the right of the chosen location)?

    Was this a builder install, or "after market"?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Morgantown, WV
    Posts
    129
    Looks like the Rube Goldberg to an overcharged system fix. Just make a giant suction line with a bunch of turbulence and you've got a not so cheap accumulator!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    4,229
    Huh thats weird sure don't look like a precharged lineset. looks like someone to a lot of time to sweat 90's in there. Looks like a waist of time and money, I wonder what their reasoning behind that is.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    On the roof
    Posts
    136
    Maybe their intent was to cool off the deck kind of like using Wirsbo Pex for heating underneath a floor.

    Maybe they weren't sure where the home owner would want the unit so they were giving them options and finally settled on the corner behind the stairs.

    Maybe a journeyman left his overzealious apprentice to do the hook up outside while he did the lines inside.

    Maybe they read in the directions that the unit was charged for a 50 ft line and the only went in to the house 10 ft.

    Maybe the installer got paid by the ft.

    Just a few ideas
    If you didn't do it right the first time it probably makes sense that your here asking the right way to do it now

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Evergreen Park (Chicago)
    Posts
    19
    Thanks.
    The original coolant line had been cut and replaced with this set up. I'm a home inspector and I told my client that this was puzzling.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    7,321
    I have seen this many times. It is usually done to allow the suction line to pick up some heat from the ambinet air to give the deck dwellers some relief. The little cooling effect actually will cause the temp of the air rising through the boards to provide some cooling during high deck occupancy loads. In addition, this allows the installer to grossly oversize the systems. The compressor will not experience problems usually associated with gross oversizing, due to the added load of the outdoor air. As far as installing the condensers under the stairs.....where else would you put them so that you didnt take yup valuable square footage of patio space?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,631
    Usually works better if the lines aren't insulated.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event