Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 54
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    551

    VisionPRO IAQ still annoying me......

    My new system is working fine. Everything cools great. Everything is wired right. I have had a tech out here 3 times to make sure. Here is the problem.

    When my VisionPRO IAQ says "cooling on, following schedule" and the fan mode is set to "AUTO" the compressor will cycle on and off as needed but the fan will run continuously at 100% instead of going through the ramping profiles. If I turn the cooling set point up above the the current indoor temp, the system shuts off completely, like it is supposed to. When the cooling mode kicks on, it goes through the proper ramping modes like it should. I have double checked all my schedule settings and no time periods have fan set to "ON" instead of "AUTO." I could really use some advice.

    Amana ASZ16 heat pump
    Amana AMV8 furnace

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Fort Worth, TX
    Posts
    11,369
    You say it's "wired right"...unless you post some pics of how the thing is wired, it's a tough call to make from here. It's either a wiring issue - still - or it's a configuration issue. Ask your installer to send a different tech, if they haven't done so already. Sometimes a fresh pair of eyes is all that is needed.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    551
    Different techs have been out already. I have the installation wiring diagrams for all components. I have double checked and traced them myself. I am an Electrical Engineer by trade and education. Needless to say, tracing wiring diagrams isn't beyond my abilities.

    The system operates correctly outside of the thermostat. If it was a furnace/blower problem, it wouldn't shut off when the thermostat set point is raised.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    NE Illinois
    Posts
    78
    How often does it cycle on and off?
    Is your CPH set high not allowing it to turn off long enough?
    Just some thoughts.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    551
    Quote Originally Posted by EmilG View Post
    How often does it cycle on and off?
    Is your CPH set high not allowing it to turn off long enough?
    Just some thoughts.
    I haven't had much time to check. I didn't realize exactly what was happening for sure until recently. And, I couldn't tell when the compressor was cycling off because the fan wasn't turning off. I was assuming (falsely) that the compressor had been running all the time the fan was on. I'll try and keep track but it will be tough.

    The CPH is set to 3.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Middle Tennessee
    Posts
    11,347

    *

    he said the "E" word (Engineer)

    get out the popcorn, it's gonna get good



    .

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,566
    Maybe they didn't clip the jumper.

    Shouldn't be using the ramp profile if you have the IAQ.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Middle Tennessee
    Posts
    11,347

    *

    Quote Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
    Shouldn't be using the ramp profile if you have the IAQ.
    yes you should, for a colder coil on start-up

    and for extra efficiency on compressor off cycle during blower ramp down



    .

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Gold Coast of Connecticut
    Posts
    4,644
    Why not use the output to the v/s blower tap.
    Aire Serv of SW Connecticut- Gas heat, dual fuel and central a/c systems installed and serviced

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    va
    Posts
    800
    You need a white-rogers 1f89-211......no more problems then.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    78

    Variable speed fan wiring questions...

    oops - wrong thread.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Surrey BC
    Posts
    118
    have you checked the dip swith settings on the furnace/air handler?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,566
    Quote Originally Posted by Airmechanical View Post
    yes you should, for a colder coil on start-up

    and for extra efficiency on compressor off cycle during blower ramp down



    .
    On the standard ramp up profile, the first 30 seconds are at 50%.
    Same as the slow ramp profile.
    When its 90° outside, you don't want to be waiting 7 1/2 minutes for it to go to full speed since the humidity is already down.

    Let the the IAQ control the blower, without the slow ramp profile. It will improve overall operation.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event