Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Clueless and need help!

I am new to the forum and clueless when it comes to how this stuff works so I really need some help here. I re-built a large house in the suburbs of New Orleans that was damaged in Katrina. This is what was installed in the house, which is a two story home and about 2700 square feet. Again I am a novice so this is what I purchased to my belief.

Downstairs:

American Standard Allegiance 16 2 speed compressor 4.5 ton
    American Standard Variable Speed Furnace, I believe to be 80,000BTU? It says Freedom 80 Comfort R.
    American Standard brand new aluminum coils

Upstairs:

Upstairs the stuff basically sits on what would be the third floor of the house so I re-used all of the equipment up there which is about 12 years old. I've never been up there so I don't even know what brand it is. I bought a new 2 ton American Standard Allegiance 13 for it.

Problems:

The house is miserable. $7200 in equipment and it's horrible in here, not to mention a $400 energy bill. One of the problems is surely the windows in the house. I only needed to replace 3 of the 18 windows so the windows aren't the greatest. The house was down to the studs on the first floor, and I did the insulation so it's well insulated. Of course it doesn't help that it is 90-95 degrees during the summer.

Ideas:

1. Windows need to go?
    2. Didn't buy big enough for upstairs? 900 square feet up, 1800 down
    3. Thermostats? They look cheap and I know that my parents had a two speed and you could see what speed it was running on. The one upstairs is the cheapest digital type you can buy and the one downstairs is a Honeywell TH5220D. It doesn't say anything in the manual about two speeds so I have no idea if the thermostats the A/C guy installed are any good for these systems?