Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 16
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    16

    York High Eff Air Conditioning Question

    Been There, I previously had a thread concerning the exhaust noise of this unit,

    Hi,

    just a couple questions about the Air conditioning on a new York Affinity
    High Eff install,

    1. Should the main plenum(?) have any space around the perimeter of the A/C unit on top of the furnace, I notice Air comming out of a couple corners, is this a design fitting issue or can some tape cover this seal?

    2. I run the fan On and the whole house is pretty comfy with the A/C set @ 75, it says in the manual that the fan will be running at 50% high cool speed when the jumper is located where it's currently at , how can I increase the fan speed? should I increase the fan speed?
    -the third floor does not get quite as cool, I tried to close some Basement supply to increase the flow to the third...

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,913
    They should have sealed that when they installed it.
    Don't remember which model you have for sure, but if its the PV9 series, the jumper can be set for hi cool, low cool, high heat or low heat, for continuos fan operation.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Eastern PA
    Posts
    68,943
    I always sealed the coil plenum to the furnace, but some leakage is not a disaster. Tape or silicone will solve the leakage.
    Government is a disease...
    ...masquerading as its own cure…
    Ecclesiastes 10:2 NIV


  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    70

    Cool

    If you'd like more airflow there's a set of jumpers in your air handler/furnace. The manual that comes with the unit tell you with Cool jumper and ADJust jumper at C,D then airflow will be at 1863 cfm in high speed and 1397 in low speed for example. Unplug your unit and you can change the jumpers but becareful not to set the air flow too low. If you can't find your installation manual, then post your model numbers of everything online and we can suggest a few things to try... maybe you can bump up your air flow a little to get more air to your "third" floor...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,913
    Quote Originally Posted by dj3901783 View Post
    If you'd like more airflow there's a set of jumpers in your air handler/furnace. The manual that comes with the unit tell you with Cool jumper and ADJust jumper at C,D then airflow will be at 1863 cfm in high speed and 1397 in low speed for example.
    Thats not what he's asking.
    He's asking about the fan on speed, when its not calling for heat or cooling.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    70

    Cool

    I wrote that because he was talking about having trouble getting airflow to the third floor... To be more specific whatever you set the dip-switches or jumpers at will give you certain cfm's... fan on will always be 50% of whatever you set the unit up for. I you have your unit set up for 2000 cfm high, 1400 low then fan on will be 1000. Or 1800 high, 1200 low, fan on 900 cfm, so you can change the fan speed to adjust for your needs/wants

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,913
    Quote Originally Posted by dj3901783 View Post
    fan on will always be 50% of whatever you set the unit up for. I you have your unit set up for 2000 cfm high, 1400 low then fan on will be 1000. Or 1800 high, 1200 low, fan on 900 cfm, so you can change the fan speed to adjust for your needs/wants
    Apparently, you have no background with the York Affinity line.
    The fan on speed, is adjustable. its not locked in like other brands.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    70

    Cool

    Beenthere, I'm not sure what you are saying... the fan on... continuous fan is adjustable, but you have to adjust the high/low speeds to change it... it's like we're saying the same thing. Some units run the fan on at 50% of high cool speed and others are at 63%, but the only way to change the contiuous fan speed is to change high cool speed right? Or am I missing something... Your new apprentice D.J.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,913
    NO, not on the Affinity.
    If your high cool CFM is 1200. You can set the board ot use the high cool CFM for teh fan on speed.
    It has a jumper setting just for the fan on speed.
    You can choose one of 5 CFM settings for it.
    Hi cool, Low cool, High heat, Low heat, or 50% of high cool.
    Unlike other brands, you don't have to set your cooling speed above normal setting ot get more air in fan only.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    16

    fan speed

    Been There,

    thanks!

    is it acceptable for myself to change the jumper without upsetting any warranty?

    main thing to know is to switch off at panel

    please advise

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    16

    Air Conditioning High CFM Cooling

    Been There,
    in a previous post you confirmed that the Affinity York series has
    5 settings for the Fan ON

    can you please confirm what temp difference the stat needs in order for the
    AC unit to throttle up to high CFM Fan?

    I'm dying to feel this,

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,913
    The stat does not control blower speed by what temp it senses..

    There is a jumpr on the furnace control board that needs to be set to tell the blower what speed to use when it gets a fan on only call.

    Being that this is not a DIY site. I can't tell you its ok to do it yourself.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    16

    Air Conditioning York Affinity New Unit

    Been There,

    One question regarding the Air Conditioning Unit:
    We know that there is a high cool and low cool fan speed,

    How much must I set the thermostat to engage the fan for high speed cooling?

    If my interior current temp is 75 degrees, what would the stat need to be set at for the AC to come on High Speed? 65 degrees?

    I thought you might know because you seem to know a lot about this, and lets say the fan is on Auto
    Last edited by rex4321; 07-12-2008 at 03:33 PM. Reason: forgot to mention

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event