Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Question Weil Mclain ultra

I'm having a conversion done from oil to gas in my home. HVAC guy is putting in a Weil Mclain ultra 155...I've seen the work the HVAC guys does and as a novice I can say it was VERY neat and impressive,,,It was at the house of the electrician that will be wiring up the boiler. That job had standard gas unit (not a mod con) with multiple zones radiant heat ect. and indirect DHW..The electrician was showing me the Tekmar unit that controls his whole unit saying that him and the HVAC guy never did a Weil Mclain MON CON yet but that I would have the Control unit. They both have over 25 yrs in the business.
    My question is the Weil Mclain spec's show the the control board is built -in and handles all controls,, and that when adding zones you just have to use a relay to each zone pump,,I'll have 3 heating zones and 1 indirect for DHW..Will a Tekmar be necessary??

Unless you heating zones all need different water temps. you don't need a tekmar.

Just a zone panal with to turn the zone circs on and off, and an end switch to tell the Ultra a heat zone is calling. The Ultra's control will handle the water temp from there. It has its own outdoor reset built into it.

Also, the Ultra has a seperate terminal set for the indirect, that over rides outdoor reset when it gets a call for domestic hot water, so that it will increase water temp to heat up the indirect quicker.
    Contractor locator map

How-to-apply-for-Professional

How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

Confused ???Mclain Ultra thermostat wiring ???

What is this "end switch" that cues the Ultra boiler? I don't have one.
    I have 2 secondary zone pumps. Right now they are controlled only by the room thermostat through two seperate relays. The boiler is always maintaining its parameters due to the jumper across the low voltage #5 and #6 terminals on the Ultra.