Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Career change

Career change

Hello, all, this is my first post here. Sorry if it's a little long. Im posting because Im seriously considering a career change into the HVAC profession (Im currently a degreed accountant). Being a number-cruncher in a big corporation has never sat well with meits always been only about making big money, for me. Ive always had much more of a technical mindset, and have always related much better with my blue-collar relatives than with my college-degreed relatives (or with the office crowd I work with). I even had an associates degree in electrical engineering technology before I was an accountant, and Id gladly still be doing that work if there were any money or abundance of jobs there.

My thought is: I go to the community college for a year and get the certificate, and see if I can make it as an HVAC tech. My strong electrical background will only help me here (I've already learned about motors, electronic circuits, and three-phase, though it was long ago now). After a few years gaining experience, maybe I partner up with someone at least as experienced in HVAC (probably more experienced) to start our own business, where my many years of accounting and business experience will hopefully give us an edge. I think that at this point I have the training, experience, and mindset to be able to run a small business. I dont want to spend all my time in the office thoughI want my hands dirty, to spend time working outdoors (and yes, I know, in attics too, unfortunately). Its much more who I am as a person, I suppose.

A strong interest I have in connection to all this is to be able to live in a smaller town, not chained to the big city (I'm in Houston) like I am as an accountant. That theres a major life-long dream, to live and work in/near the country. Its worth much more to me than making the big bucks at this point in my life.