Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    61

    Question How many tons is my Kenmore Central Air Unit?

    I have a Sears Kenmore central air conditioner that was probably installed around 1989. I don't have any documentation, other than the name plate on the outdoor condenser unit. It lists both 867.800120 and CA5030QA1 as the model number. The Sears 867 prefix indicates it was built by Keep Rite, which is a United Technologies subsidiary (same corporate parent as Carrier).

    Is it possible to tell how many tons capacity the a/c unit is based on the model number? It isn't listed anywhere else. Sears was not able to help.

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    media,pa
    Posts
    80
    just by the numbers i would say 2-1/2 tons

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    O'Fallon, MO
    Posts
    249
    2 1/2 tons

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    61
    Thanks! I'm curious, what is the magic code to decipher that? I had been thinking that the 30 in the middle of the model number meant 3 tons, based on what the Sears people said, but they weren't very sure.

    Thanks!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,722
    030 = 30,000 BTUs, = 2.5 tons.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Richmond, Virginia
    Posts
    25

    Smile

    Quote Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
    030 = 30,000 BTUs, = 2.5 tons.
    I was looking at my American Standard model number last night and trying to figure out how the model number equates to 3.5 tons ....the model # has in it "042" so now I know .....thanks beenthere!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Grundy Co. IL
    Posts
    773
    Tons?, no it only weighs a couple hudred pounds.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Pittsburgh PA
    Posts
    37
    Quote Originally Posted by skeletor View Post
    I have a Sears Kenmore central air conditioner that was probably installed around 1989. I don't have any documentation, other than the name plate on the outdoor condenser unit. It lists both 867.800120 and CA5030QA1 as the model number. The Sears 867 prefix indicates it was built by Keep Rite, which is a United Technologies subsidiary (same corporate parent as Carrier).

    Is it possible to tell how many tons capacity the a/c unit is based on the model number? It isn't listed anywhere else. Sears was not able to help.

    Thanks!
    2.5 tons

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,722
    What.
    The first 3 telling him its a 2.5 ton, wasn't good enough.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Florida Panhandle
    Posts
    4,356
    Quote Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
    What.
    The first 3 telling him its a 2.5 ton, wasn't good enough.
    Lol...has it occured to you that there are those who want to get there post count up, so they can join the pros....lol

    Roy
    "The perfect Totalitarian State is one where the political bosses, and their army of managers, control a population of slaves, who do not have to be coerced, because they love their servitude"

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    DC Metro Area (MD)
    Posts
    3,368
    Quote Originally Posted by VA GENT View Post
    I was looking at my American Standard model number last night and trying to figure out how the model number equates to 3.5 tons ....the model # has in it "042" so now I know .....thanks beenthere!
    042 = 42,000 BTU's (nominal) = 3.5 tons. Divide the number in the model number by 12 typically (unless it's old and has a different nomenclature).

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,722
    LOL.

    I just liked asking the question.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event