Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 154

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    26

    Frown Need Help...Outside unit will not shut off

    Hey all....I have a problem with my outside unit not wanting to shut off. I just recently graduated from an HVAC program, but I am stumped as to why my unit will not shut off unless I switch it off of cool from the furnace. For some reason when I switch the thermostat off of cool, the outside and inside units will not shut off. I can turn the temp above the temp in the house so it will kick off, but it wont. I have even turned the switch on the furnace off of cool, and tried to just run the fan in the on position and it will not kick on...the only way I can turn on and off my unit is to use the switch on the furnace.....I am completely stumped as to why it is doing this...I have even went out and check the contactor...and it seems to be working fine. Can anyone help me out.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Eastern PA
    Posts
    68,923
    Bad stat or short in wiring. No detailed troubleshooting in this area of the site. Get 14 more posts under your belt and apply for professional membership and we can discuss this in more detail on a professional forum on this site.
    Government is a disease...
    ...masquerading as its own cure…
    Ecclesiastes 10:2 NIV


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,741
    Put the old stat back on.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    11,847
    Ants.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Eastern PA
    Posts
    68,923
    Quote Originally Posted by the dangling wrangler View Post
    Ants.
    Bugs wouldn't cause the indoor unit to operate or wouldn't allow the outdoor unit to shut down by turning off the furnace power. It has to be in the control system.
    Government is a disease...
    ...masquerading as its own cure…
    Ecclesiastes 10:2 NIV


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    west point, ga.
    Posts
    328
    Quote Originally Posted by RoBoTeq View Post
    Bugs wouldn't cause the indoor unit to operate or wouldn't allow the outdoor unit to shut down by turning off the furnace power. It has to be in the control system.
    He never said he cut the power off to the furnace.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    26
    I never put a new T-Stat on, but yes it is in a mobile home...it is a Coleman Presidential Energy Saver A/C unit and a Presidential III Furnace Unit. The thing is when I have the T-Stat in the off position...the A/C still runs, that is with the Cool switch turned on on the furnace. The only way it will shut off is if I Switch it off of COOL on the furnace. if I turn the cool switch off I can go to the t-stat and try to turn the fan to the on position and it doesnt even do anything....I have even tried to turn it to Heat mode..and nothing happends...the only thing I can think of is a faulty T-stat

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    11,847
    Quote Originally Posted by RoBoTeq View Post
    Bugs wouldn't cause the indoor unit to operate or wouldn't allow the outdoor unit to shut down by turning off the furnace power. It has to be in the control system.
    I know that, just trying to add a little levity to the conversation.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    west point, ga.
    Posts
    328
    Is it a mobile home furnace and you tried to put a new t-stat on.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,741
    Did you get it fixed.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    26
    Well since no one is allowed to just give me a straight answer...I don't see why I should have to answer any of you.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,741
    LOL
    You don't have to.

    If, you had bothered to read all the post, and answer the questions that were asked. You would have discovered that some of us were trying to lead you to the right answer.


    Yep, over the years, I have been given the answers to questions. Many times when that same type of problem showed up on another unit. I couldn't remember what the answer was. Why, because I didn't have to think for myself on the previous one.

    Just being given the answer, will not help you learn.

    But. In the pro tech forum. Answer to questions such as this are given. We're not allowed to give them in the open public forum.

    Plus cert boosting doesn't doesn't encourage straight answers.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    26
    Trust me I read every post...98.9% of them had nothing to do with what I was asking....they just had to do with cutting the "new guy" down...obviously cause they have nothing better to do with there life than wait for a new guy to come on....I wasn't asking for the exact answer...I was looking for someone to kinda lead me in the right direction....And yes you are right...people asked me questions...but at the same time had something rude to say......I am sorry that not everyone is made equal and I am not going to be a "PRO" overnight like everyone else on this board. Sorry that I even tried to make things easier...but as usual, people always want to make it more difficult than it really is.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event