Results 1 to 6 of 6

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV
    Posts
    224

    Failing condenser fan motors.

    Most of the time when the cfm fails it's not running when I arrive and the repair is simple enough. Sometimes though the unit has been shut off and I can hope it fails while I'm there or get an amp meter reading high enough to indicate failure is imminent. So the question is there a percentage of rated amps that above which you can consider the motor faulty?

    I've been amping the new ones after install and they run real close to 68% of what's on the motor plate. I had one that was running at .9 amps and the plate stated 1.1 amps, which is 82%. This motor failed while I was standing there after it had been running about 20 minutes. Amps shot up to 2.6 and it screached to a halt.

    I know this is a broad question concerning different mfg.'s but since the motors are all made pretty much the same way they should fail about the same way.

    TIA,
    Barrie

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    143

    Semper Fi

    Hey... your percentage is about right for oem motors. Keep in mind that poorly position fan blades in relation to the shroud can cause high amps ..."chopping".... Also improper run caps even if they check out on mfd check doesnt always mean capacitants are performing in high temps, when in doubt change that 2 dollar part. Even fla is bad on a been static for a while unit. An option you have as a busy service tech who is waiting and waiting for a questionable fan motor too fail is to remove power and wait for blades to stop then apply power for 10 sec then remove power again repeating these steps 3-5 times. If you have bad windings, or run cap that motor will usually fail. If bearings are bad you will know also.
    Hope this helps.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    143

    Barriehie

    Pose these questions on the pro tech forums and if your not signed up, its easy and quick to do

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV
    Posts
    224
    Thank you ddog1, more stuff to keep in mind. I don't think I have enough posts to apply yet for Pro.

    Barrie

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,095
    No. You need one more at this time.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    The Twilight Zone
    Posts
    2,964
    Quote Originally Posted by barriehie View Post
    Thank you ddog1, more stuff to keep in mind. I don't think I have enough posts to apply yet for Pro.

    Barrie
    Answer a few posts in the Food and Grill forum and you're good-to-go.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event