+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Amana HDC18 Microwave

Knox CO. KY Occupation: Residintial and Commercial instalation, service,and commercial refrigeration. Interests:4wheeling and Hunting
    Post Likes

Amana HDC18 Microwave

I have one that is blowing fuses only when you try to cook. When you push a button to cook it will blow the fuse I have checked all I know. I am new to microwaves so any help would be GREAT!!
    GiT-R-Done!!!

Post Likes
    I'm not the best on it but sounds like microtron is shot.

Post Likes
    model number?

Post Likes
    Check your door switch assembly.The main fuse is designed to blow if "door interlock" switch or "monitor" switch is bad.

Knox CO. KY Occupation: Residintial and Commercial instalation, service,and commercial refrigeration. Interests:4wheeling and Hunting
    Post Likes
    Thanks thats the only thing I've not checked.
    GiT-R-Done!!!

Post Likes
    Tried door switch assembl thats not it. It can get an amp draw reading it is pulling 82 amps. i called amana they didn't help any eaither thanks..
    GiT-R-Done!!!

Post Likes

Caution!

If you haven't worked on microwaves before it's best to back away.The hi-voltage side produces extremely high voltages(4000V). Never put a test meter on any hi-volt component.

Post Likes
    sounds like a shorted magnatron, unplug your unit and discharge the capacitors then using your meter ohm out your magnatron to ground if you show any kind of a reading your shorted to ground. If you don't understand exactly what I'm talking about then find someone quallified to work on microwaves, they are extremely deadly if you don't know exactly what you are doing

Post Likes
    I have checked everything to ground and nothing shows a ground. I understand about the high voltage. I treat all voltage as if it is deadly.
    GiT-R-Done!!!

Post Likes
    try unpluging the magnatron then run the unit with the magnatron unpluged.

Post Likes