Amana HDC18 Microwave
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 21
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Knox CO. KY Occupation: Residintial and Commercial instalation, service,and commercial refrigeration. Interests:4wheeling and Hunting
    Posts
    153

    Amana HDC18 Microwave

    I have one that is blowing fuses only when you try to cook. When you push a button to cook it will blow the fuse I have checked all I know. I am new to microwaves so any help would be GREAT!!
    GiT-R-Done!!!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    ga
    Posts
    80
    I'm not the best on it but sounds like microtron is shot.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    6,285
    model number?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    central New Jersey
    Posts
    60
    Check your door switch assembly.The main fuse is designed to blow if "door interlock" switch or "monitor" switch is bad.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Knox CO. KY Occupation: Residintial and Commercial instalation, service,and commercial refrigeration. Interests:4wheeling and Hunting
    Posts
    153
    Thanks thats the only thing I've not checked.
    GiT-R-Done!!!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Knox CO. KY Occupation: Residintial and Commercial instalation, service,and commercial refrigeration. Interests:4wheeling and Hunting
    Posts
    153
    Tried door switch assembl thats not it. It can get an amp draw reading it is pulling 82 amps. i called amana they didn't help any eaither thanks..
    GiT-R-Done!!!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    central New Jersey
    Posts
    60

    Caution!

    If you haven't worked on microwaves before it's best to back away.The hi-voltage side produces extremely high voltages(4000V). Never put a test meter on any hi-volt component.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    4,229
    sounds like a shorted magnatron, unplug your unit and discharge the capacitors then using your meter ohm out your magnatron to ground if you show any kind of a reading your shorted to ground. If you don't understand exactly what I'm talking about then find someone quallified to work on microwaves, they are extremely deadly if you don't know exactly what you are doing

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Knox CO. KY Occupation: Residintial and Commercial instalation, service,and commercial refrigeration. Interests:4wheeling and Hunting
    Posts
    153
    I have checked everything to ground and nothing shows a ground. I understand about the high voltage. I treat all voltage as if it is deadly.
    GiT-R-Done!!!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    4,229
    try unpluging the magnatron then run the unit with the magnatron unpluged.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Knox CO. KY Occupation: Residintial and Commercial instalation, service,and commercial refrigeration. Interests:4wheeling and Hunting
    Posts
    153
    Did that also I unpluged them 1 at a time then both at the same time.
    The samething.
    GiT-R-Done!!!

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    4,229
    Wait a minute here I read the post a little closer it says fuses. If you are refering to the fuses on the board, then the problem more than likely is in the controll circuit, OR maybe the stirrer (fan) is shorted out, I was thinking it wast tripping the breaker one way to find out is unplug the light, stirrer and magnatron and hit start if it still blowes fuses than the problem is in the board, I would also suggest unmounting the board and examine it closely for any signs of damage.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Florida Panhandle
    Posts
    4,345
    First of all you need to determine where the short is, the way to do that is to disconnect the HV transformer primary and start the unit. If it doesnt blow then you know your problem is in the HV side.

    As someone else said, you do not use any meter on the HV side. It is also very helpfull to get a breaker the size the unit requires. Most 120v Micros use ABC20, havent worked on a lot of commercial stuff, so check what fuses are required. You dont want to stand there and keep putting fuses in finding where the short is.

    If you blowing the fuse with primary off the transformer, then you need to start looking to see where the most likely problem is. The first thing is to check the Monitor switch, it checks to make sure that the door is closed, and if door open, or the striker doesnt engage it, or it is just plain bad, makes a direct short across your input line.

    If you have determined that the short is in the HV side, then you need to start eliminating components. First remove both HV leads off the Mag tube, start the unit, if it sill blows go to the capacitor and remove connection. A common problem can be the Diode, but generaly if it has a short it will burn or have a burn mark on it, so it should be obvious, unless its included in capacitor.

    As someone else mentioned, BE VEY CAREFULL with the HV side, make sure the capacitor is drained. I once worked on a commercial unit many years ago, discharged the capacitor and it didnt discharge completly, I crabbed the HV lead at the mag tube to remove wire, and got the hell shocked out of me, worst schock I have ever gotton in the over 40 years of being a tech, my heart almost didnt make it.

    Also I can tell you that you can pretty much check HV problems with a plain screwdriver across capacitor, the HV crack can tell you if its got a short or open in the mag tube or Diode, but that comes with years of experience. Also very few shorted mag tubes will blow fuse instantly, the thing to listen for is the HV transformer hum, it will be very noticable if it has a short on the HV side.

    If you suspect a control board problem, see if you can bypass it, and energize the unit without it, when doing so will tell you that at least the HV side is working, and you dont have a multible problem with hi side and low side.

    Thats about all I can think of at the moment, and as I said before, BE CAREFULL with HV side, the motto is....if you work on the live hi voltage side...ON HAND IN YOU POCKET.....lol

    Roy
    "The perfect Totalitarian State is one where the political bosses, and their army of managers, control a population of slaves, who do not have to be coerced, because they love their servitude"

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event