Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    78

    Trane XL14c - two-stage cooling?

    The trane XL14c has a variable speed blower and two-stage gas heat according to their website. What i'm not clear on is whether it has two-stage cooling? If not, does it still use the VS blower when cooling or just for heating? Also, can a Honeywell VisionPro IAQ t-stat control the different stages and the VS blower, or is it better to let the unit (Comfort-R) do it?

    We just had the above equipment installed and I want to make sure the installer has everything set-up properly. As it is, the t-stat settings indicate single stage heat and cooling, so I assume it is set-up to have the unit control the stages and VS fan.

    TIA

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Spartanburg, S.C.
    Posts
    58
    it is not two stage cooling, only 16i and 19i. You may still use variable speed though.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    78
    Thanks.

    How about the Visionpro IAQ vs Comfort-R issue? Which is better to control fan speed, etc?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    DC Metro Area (MD)
    Posts
    3,371
    The IAQ can slow down the ECM variable-speed blower to control humidity on demand, so that would be my preference. I don't know how common it is to use this thermostat on a packaged unit, so I'll let someone else comment on that... And the XL14c has a 2-stage gas valve and single-stage compressor. You'd need the XL16c for 2-stage heat and cool.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    78
    Thanks - I'll post the t-stat vs. unit question as a separate post for hopefully more replies.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,308
    Isn't the 14c, a packaged unit.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    78
    Quote Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
    Isn't the 14c, a packaged unit.
    Yes - why do you ask?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,308
    Wanted to make sure I was thinking of the right unit.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event