Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 27 to 39 of 49
  1. #27
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,913
    As Paul said, teh IAQ measures in tenths of a degree, and will bring on your A/C before the temp rises to the next degree.

    Not 100% how it works, just for reference.
    Stat set at 72*F, temp reaches 72.5°F(still shows 72), stat runs A/C, temp reaches 71.9°F, stat turns off A/C(still shows 72).

    Your CPH should not be set higher then 3 CPH for first stage.
    You can also set it for a more aggressive cooling cycle. If you do, it may over shoot temp.
    But your off cycles will be longer.

    Check your first stage CPH first.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  2. #28
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    551
    Quote Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
    As Paul said, teh IAQ measures in tenths of a degree, and will bring on your A/C before the temp rises to the next degree.

    Not 100% how it works, just for reference.
    Stat set at 72*F, temp reaches 72.5F(still shows 72), stat runs A/C, temp reaches 71.9F, stat turns off A/C(still shows 72).

    Your CPH should not be set higher then 3 CPH for first stage.
    You can also set it for a more aggressive cooling cycle. If you do, it may over shoot temp.
    But your off cycles will be longer.

    Check your first stage CPH first.
    CPH is set to 3 for both stages.

    How do I set it for a more aggressive cooling cycle? I know this probably defeats some of the purpose of the high end equipment, but I can't stand the blower noise.

  3. #29
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,913
    Thats in the installers set up menu.

    The DIY rules prevent me from telling you how to get into it.
    But its in the higher numbered set up.

    The noise issue, could just be a mis setting on teh blower dip switches.
    Do you know what CFM they have it set for, in low and high coling.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  4. #30
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    551
    Quote Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
    Thats in the installers set up menu.

    The DIY rules prevent me from telling you how to get into it.
    But its in the higher numbered set up.

    The noise issue, could just be a mis setting on teh blower dip switches.
    Do you know what CFM they have it set for, in low and high coling.
    I know where the installer's menu is. Thats how I found the CPH settings. can you provide the setting number if you cant say specifically what setting it is?

    I don't know the CFM setting. But I know which dip switches set it and how to figure it out. Where do I find info on what the CFM should be set at? Is it based on the coil, heat pump, or preference?

  5. #31
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,913
    CFM is set by the performance you need from the unit. Higher CFMs for dryer climates, lower CFMs for humid climates. Humid climates often use 350 CFM per ton.

    Due to a recent post by the "ADMIN" I won't tell you the set up number either.
    Its in teh manual, and it is a ISU numver. Read through the set up, and you will find it.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  6. #32
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    551
    Quote Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
    CFM is set by the performance you need from the unit. Higher CFMs for dryer climates, lower CFMs for humid climates. Humid climates often use 350 CFM per ton.

    Due to a recent post by the "ADMIN" I won't tell you the set up number either.
    Its in teh manual, and it is a ISU numver. Read through the set up, and you will find it.
    Thanks for your help.

    So would it be safe to lower my CFM output as long as the unit is still cooling properly and timely? What are the dangers have not enough CFM?

  7. #33
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,913
    Too low can freeze the coil.
    350 CFM per ton is safe for most installations in humid climates.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  8. #34
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    551
    I'm not sure what is considered a humid climate. During the summer here, it is between 70% and 85% humidity. Is that high enough to go down to 350cfm?

  9. #35
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,913
    yes it is.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  10. #36
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    551
    As you stated earlier, the VisionPRO IAQ cannot control the fan speed of my AMV8, correct? Which brands can the visionpro control the fan speed?

  11. #37
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,913
    Yes it can for humidity control.

    Any VS that has dehumid terminals can be controled with the IAQ.

    But not for heat.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  12. #38
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    551
    Quote Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
    Yes it can for humidity control.

    Any VS that has dehumid terminals can be controled with the IAQ.

    But not for heat.
    Do you have to have a dehumidifier for that function? Or is there a way to trick the blower into that mode while using the the first stage of the heat pump?

  13. #39
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,913
    When wired up right, it will slow the blower for you during dehumidify calls.

    You don't need a dehumidifier to use teh IAQ's abilities.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event