Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 22
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    151

    Should I get the Spaceguard 2200?

    I am going to be getting a new HVAC system. (See below for specs) Should I get the spaceguard or just go with a normal 1" filter? My 2 main concerns are price and airflow. I am already probably spending more than I should, so I don't know if I should spend the extra to get the spaceguard. I have also read that these type filters can significantly reduce the airflow. Is that a legitimate concern?

    Should I get it or not? Thanks.

    Trane XR13 Heatpump 3 ton 4TWR3036A1
    XT-90 furnace 80k btu TUX1B080A9H3
    coil 4TXCB036BC3

    ARI# 1231123

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,311
    Did they check to see if your duct is sized to install one with out restricting air flow too much.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Atlanta GA area
    Posts
    21,405
    I run a small company and generally custom design each system to the needs of the customer. I recommend either an AirBear or an AprilAir (Spacegaurd) when I do an install. Here are some reasons:

    1) Cleaner air to breathe. What price would you as the HO that lives in the house, place on breathing cleaner air all the time you are at home? That includes every night when you are sleeping.
    2) Less dust to clean up when you do the (hopefully) weekly housecleaning. Many of my customers have said they have less dust.
    3) Here is one that many folks have to think about for a while: The equipment will last longer with a better air filter. Simply: less dust gets past it, and there is less back-pressure--resulting in more efficiency.
    4) less changes of the filter. If the system is not in an easily accessible place; media or spacegaurd filter systems usually need changing twice a year (or sometimes less, depending on system usage).

    I would recommend it! What part of the country do you live in?
    GA-HVAC-Tech

    Quality work at a fair price with excellent customer service!

    Romans Ch's 5-6-7-8

    2 Chronicles 7:14

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    151
    Thanks for the responses guys.

    I live in Winston-Salem NC.

    A lot of my duct work work is in the garage portion of the house, so it's in plain view. As far as I know, no test or anything was done to determine if it would restrict the airflow too much. Is that something that can be determined just by looking over the duct work? Or does all the duct work have to be measured for both length and diameter and then calculations done based on that?

    Thanks again.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Atlanta GA area
    Posts
    21,405
    The SpaceGaurd has roughly an operating (air flow) opening of 23x18 (inside of the mounting flanges on each side). It will easily flow 4 tons of cooling, albeit some folks install it on a 5 ton system (I would use 2 spacegaurd units on a 5 ton system). Given your replacement system size of 3 tons, I think the only problem you yet have to solve is if it will physically fit in the space. But that is for the HVAC contractor to do.

    Enjoy the clean air when your new system is installed.
    GA-HVAC-Tech

    Quality work at a fair price with excellent customer service!

    Romans Ch's 5-6-7-8

    2 Chronicles 7:14

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Camel City, NC
    Posts
    6,233

    Small World

    Quote Originally Posted by acobra289 View Post

    I live in Winston-Salem NC.
    That makes 2 of us.
    I have a (spaceguard) Aprilaire on my system and recommend them on equipment I install too.
    Be safe not fast. body parts don't grow back

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    26
    Your HVAC contractor should be able to tell you about your duct sizing. It is just a matter of a quick calc. I would think they already know but do ask them and voice your concerns.
    As far as should you get a "space-guard" or a 1" filter go with the space-guard type style(5" filter). I suggest because you are getting a Trane they offer a filter called "perfect-fit" it fits right on the bottom of your unit perfectly ----hence the name. It is a bit more $$$ than aprilaire,space-guard etc. but, it is a neater look I think.

    I have a couple questions --
    You are getting a furnace? Why are you also getting a heat pump? The furnace should be enough? The condensing unit should be a 4TTR3036 for a straight cool.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    151
    Quote Originally Posted by Shark207 View Post
    I have a couple questions --
    You are getting a furnace? Why are you also getting a heat pump? The furnace should be enough? The condensing unit should be a 4TTR3036 for a straight cool.
    I use propane and the cost is getting outrageous. Our electric rates are very reasonable in NC, so I want to use a heat pump for most of my heating and have the furnace as the backup on the colder days.

    There is a chance I may be able to switch to natural gas. The local gas company is currently doing a feasibility study to see if they will run me a line. But either with NG or propane I am still going to use a HP for my main heat source.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,311
    Quote Originally Posted by Shark207 View Post
    You are getting a furnace? Why are you also getting a heat pump? The furnace should be enough? The condensing unit should be a 4TTR3036 for a straight cool.
    Dual fuel saves a lot of money on the heating bill.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Atlanta GA area
    Posts
    21,405
    Quote Originally Posted by acobra289 View Post
    I use propane and the cost is getting outrageous. Our electric rates are very reasonable in NC, so I want to use a heat pump for most of my heating and have the furnace as the backup on the colder days.

    There is a chance I may be able to switch to natural gas. The local gas company is currently doing a feasibility study to see if they will run me a line. But either with NG or propane I am still going to use a HP for my main heat source.
    What kind of dual fuel controller is the installer using? If you are installing a single system with single T-stat, I would suggest you look at the Honeywell IAQ (9421) T-stat.

    It will act as the dual fuel controller, as well as humidity and de-humidify, 3 stages of heat and 2 stages of cool, and ventilation.

    Let us know how the system works out after it is installed... and pictures! We like pictures!
    GA-HVAC-Tech

    Quality work at a fair price with excellent customer service!

    Romans Ch's 5-6-7-8

    2 Chronicles 7:14

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Northern VA
    Posts
    389
    The spaceguard is worth the money spent on it. Remember, it's a long term investment.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    26
    Thanks-
    That says a lot. Propane that explains a bunch. If you do go to Natural gas keep in mind that you will need a conversion kit for your furnace before using the Natural gas.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    151
    Quote Originally Posted by selfemployed View Post
    That makes 2 of us.
    I have a (spaceguard) Aprilaire on my system and recommend them on equipment I install too.
    Howdy neighbor!

    Just curious, do you work for a local company or are you really self employed?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event