Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 51
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    North Texas
    Posts
    20

    Condensate drain (s)

    My main condensate drain is working correctly (just got new system) but I still have +- an inch of water in the emergency drain pan and it is flowing out. I didn't think the pan would be draining water except if the main drain failed. Can you set me straight? Live in hot humid Dallas TX.
    Thanks,

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    66,753
    If the main drain is working right, how did the water get in the emergency pan.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Dudley, North Carolina
    Posts
    6
    Is the end of your condensate drain line flowing freely or in the dirt? The clog may not always be in the drain line itself but at the end of the line. Best thing to do is look to see if if your line is dripping from outside. If it is in fact dripping in ac mode then the challenge is not your line.. If it was me I would install a pvc union, blow out the line with nitrogen, install an easy trap and float switch.. Hope it works out for you!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    18951
    Posts
    1,593
    It sounds like the condensate isn't all going out your primary drain, and is dripping into the emergency drain. What did your installing contractor say when he came out to look at it?
    .
    "Press on. Nothing in the world can take the place of persistence. Talent will not; nothing is more common than unsuccessful men with talent. Genius will not; unrewarded genius is almost a proverb. Education alone will not; the world is full of educated derelicts. Persistence and determination alone are omnipotent."
    .

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Office and warehouse in both Crystal River & New Port Richey ,FL
    Posts
    18,836
    Pictures would help.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    26
    After your installing contractor fixes your drain problem. (Sounds like your Coil is not "level" in the air-handler. Or the primary pan is cracked. Or connections in your pvc is not tight.) Have them intall a float switch in your emergency pan and a "SS1" or any style of "in-line" float switch in your drain line. These two items will shut down your system if you have drain problems in the future. Which will prevent any further damage.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    N.E. Ok.
    Posts
    1,347
    I bet your installing contractor would respond to a water in the emergency pan on a new system

    If in fact he is Licensed, insured and bonded.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    26
    Quote Originally Posted by captube View Post
    I bet your installing contractor would respond to a water in the emergency pan on a new system

    If in fact he is Licensed, insured and bonded.
    You got that right!!! I would be running to that one. And if it is in the attic. SPRINTING to it--Don't wanna buy sheetrock and a paint job for anyone.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Houston,Tx.
    Posts
    15,505
    Quote Originally Posted by captube View Post
    I bet your installing contractor would respond to a water in the emergency pan on a new system

    If in fact he is Licensed, insured and bonded.
    And NATE approved....
    “Reality is merely an illusion, albeit a very persistent one.” –Albert Einstein
    “Experience is a hard teacher because she gives the test first, the lesson afterwards.”-Vernon Law

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    North Texas
    Posts
    20
    I'll try to answer a few questions and attach a picture.

    I should have said the main drain is flowing, correctly was an assumption on my part, point well taken.
    Company is licensed, bonded and insured, one of the best in Dallas, employee owned.
    I believe I do have a float switch, see pic.
    The main drain goes to indoor plumbing and out to septic.
    Thanks for the comments.
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    east kansas
    Posts
    8,012
    I don't recognize what they did with the trap. Or what kind it is. Is it one of those prefab with a switch?

    There is a red dial looking thing. Is the trap open to the atmosphere on the upstream side. We know the secondary trap is primed by now if it is leaking into the pan.

    We would be in a hurry to look at that install if we did it. Like said before, we don't want to buy a new ceiling.
    Beware of advice given by some guy on the Internet.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    east kansas
    Posts
    8,012
    Is the outlet of the trap capped? It should be open to act like a vent.
    Beware of advice given by some guy on the Internet.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    N.E. Ok.
    Posts
    1,347
    Is the coil level ? Goodman gas furnace?

    TXV looks like spaghetti.

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event