Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    2

    Upgrading to Digital Thermostat

    I'm upgrading an old mechanical thermostat to a digital one. I've read up on-line about this and also have looked over the manual for the digital thermostat I will be hooking up - seems simple from an electrical and install point.

    The only problem is the wiring is a bit confusing. My system (aw24-05c) I believe is a single stage heat pump and has 5 wires (see picture). The manual (http://noblewinds.info/Hunter/ThermIns/44550.pdf) indicates that the only heat pump wiring uses no white wire and a jumper between RC and RH. The system I have has a white wire in use and no jumpers in the current setup - however it has an Orange wire/connection confirming that it is a heat pump present.

    I'm guessing that I should go ahead and connect the white wire and add a jumper and hopefully it will work.

    Any thoughts? Thanks in advance.

    Name:  ACStuff 006.jpg
Views: 108
Size:  32.7 KB

    Name:  ACStuff 011.jpg
Views: 93
Size:  55.6 KB

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    mesa arizona
    Posts
    309

    Thumbs up hey

    u neeed to calll a contractor budddy?????

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    6,285
    Quote Originally Posted by alphanode View Post
    I'm upgrading an old mechanical thermostat to a digital one. I've read up on-line about this and also have looked over the manual for the digital thermostat I will be hooking up - seems simple from an electrical and install point.

    The only problem is the wiring is a bit confusing. My system (aw24-05c) I believe is a single stage heat pump and has 5 wires (see picture). The manual (http://noblewinds.info/Hunter/ThermIns/44550.pdf) indicates that the only heat pump wiring uses no white wire and a jumper between RC and RH. The system I have has a white wire in use and no jumpers in the current setup - however it has an Orange wire/connection confirming that it is a heat pump present.

    I'm guessing that I should go ahead and connect the white wire and add a jumper and hopefully it will work.

    Any thoughts? Thanks in advance.

    Name:  ACStuff 006.jpg
Views: 108
Size:  32.7 KB

    Name:  ACStuff 011.jpg
Views: 93
Size:  55.6 KB


    Colors don't mean as much as they should. Voltage should be verified with the install.....installing wrong could cost 3 to 10 times more than the stat itself if it's wired wrong.


    Oh yeah rules sate no DIY.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    California
    Posts
    108
    Go slowly here, you're closing in on possibly creating a dead short in the 24v section and blowing a fuse (lucky) or a board (luck runs out). Without a tech or at least a digital multimeter to verify whether there is a 'common' run to your thermostat - if you guess poorly and land common on either RC or RH it will short out. I've fixed too many of these DIY jobs to count - and it's not well documented in the typical Home Center TStat diagrams. When was your last service? Might be good to let a tech do this?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    68,770
    Hunter makes a great fan.
    Crappy thermostat.

    Did I mention they make a great fan.


    Sorry, this is not a DIY site, please read the rules, Thank you.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    2,793
    I love Hunter stats, I make money changing them out

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    2

    Thanks and sorry.

    Thanks for the reply guys.

    I only need the thermostat to last 1-2 years, but based on your advice, i'll look around to see if i can find something slightly better.

    I thought this would be a simple matter with a simple answer, but apparently I was incorrect. I actually read the rules and saw the no DIY, however it said "Please do not ask for step by step instructions on purchasing, installing or repairing your own HVAC equipment," and, as I said before - thought this was as simple question."


    Thanks again for the advice and sorry for breaking the rules

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event