Question XL19i Trane Compressor failure

Hi All,

I am a newbie on this forum who's had a Trane XL19 5 Ton dual compressor and air handler system for just over a year. My home in Davie, FL, had another brand 5 ton unit. Upgraded both compressor and air handler to a Trane after being in the home from new- same tonnage but the old one was way less efficient. Cooling was a problem in the home but no failures of any kind prior seven years.

I have the Clean Effects air cleaner installed as well, which by the way has failed previously is awaiting parts. And the Extended Warranty. The full monty. I have been pleased by the efficiency and the house has been cool and seemed to run fine up to now.

The contractor also put a remote sensor in the warmest part of the house which seems to have helped the balance. All was well, almost.

My problem now, however... The smaller 2.5(?) ton compressor kicked the bucket Sunday last. Compressor's 60A 240V breaker kicked off overnight for no apparent reason. I found it tripped and the house warmer than normal (77) with only the air handler running at about 4AM.

The installer/servicer company sent their service manager out later on Monday (not to mention names but they are a Trane Comfort dealer and well known here). He came out, looked it over, and said, 'Yep... It's the smaller compressor that's blowing the breaker.'

Indeed, the compressor winding was not shorted, but even when manually energized, he showed me that it immediately tripped out. Though he said there were some contactor markings on there for that compressor, there was no apparent reason that the compressor itself was bad. He checked as I watched him Ohm out the windings, and they seemed OK (did not note the exact readings, several Ohms though). Said it should be fixed under warranty. Nothing inside the compressor housing that looked amiss, certainly no charred wreckage...