Thread: evap coil 1/2 ton larger then condenser?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Post Likes

Cool evap coil 1/2 ton larger then condenser?

Word has it in my shop that upsizing the evap coil will give you maximum dehumidification.

I am a commercial service tech, I am not a res. installer so.....

Question for you is: a 3 ton evap coil with txv going to work with a 2.5 ton 13 seer condenser?

I spoke to the mfg. and they said you dont need a txv with a 13 seer only the 14 seer. I thought all 13 seers required txv for maximum eff. ???

Now I am asking this question looking for real answers so for those of you who enjoy bashing people (you know who you are) please keep your comments to yourself.

Thanks..........

Post Likes
    See thread 84031 and udarrell web.

Post Likes
    Upsizing the evap coil sometimes lowers latent capacity (so it wouldn't give you maximum dehumidification--downsizing the coil would, but you'd have to make sure it's rated by the manufacturer), but it's done to get higher efficiencies in most cases (for residential). It may depend on the manufacturer. There are some ARI matchups with 1/2 ton or even 1 ton upsize on evap coil. Hope this helps.

Post Likes
    One of the nice ones will be along sometime.
    Last edited by beenthere; 06-23-2008 at 08:47 AM. Reason: retype

Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
    Wow.
    If you want to keep that attitude. i won't tell you the real answer, and how to size the ID coil for better humidity removal, and highest efficiency.
    Be nice to beenthere. He's got a lot of experience and a large wealth of knowledge regarding HVAC.

Some, if not all manufacturers have performance data that provides the SHR and latent/sensible capacity of different coil matchups.

Post Likes
    In terms of there in the user handle beenthere. I thinks it's a safe assumption there = everywhere.

Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by beenthere View Post