View Poll Results: Do you use a micron guage when pulling a vacuum?

Voters
128. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

    116 90.63%
  • Nope, we don't own one.

    12 9.38%
Page 4 of 18 FirstFirst 123456789101114 ... LastLast
Results 40 to 52 of 224
  1. #40
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    NW burbs of Detroit
    Posts
    6,058
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr Bill View Post
    I don't need a micron gauge I have a pressure switch on my pump that shuts my pump down at a 500 microns.
    That must be one heck of a transducer you got sensing the micron level.
    Last edited by hvaclover; 06-21-2008 at 10:10 PM.

  2. #41
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Houston,Tx.
    Posts
    15,505
    Quote Originally Posted by hvaclover View Post
    That must be one heck of a tranducer you got sensing the micron level.

    You bet it's NATE approved Tranducer and I also did a Manual D on it so I know it's right.
    “Reality is merely an illusion, albeit a very persistent one.” –Albert Einstein
    “Experience is a hard teacher because she gives the test first, the lesson afterwards.”-Vernon Law

  3. #42
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Baltimore area
    Posts
    1,818
    Quote Originally Posted by hvaclover View Post
    Posative press won't suck in moisture. I'll stick with that. I have yet to find a micron guage that is accurate or does not require a ton of maintenence.
    Then you need to get yourself one of these http://www.testequipmentdepot.com/ro...uum/14010a.htm !!

  4. #43
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    NW burbs of Detroit
    Posts
    6,058
    Quote Originally Posted by refrtech View Post
    Then you need to get yourself one of these http://www.testequipmentdepot.com/ro...uum/14010a.htm !!
    Efhardystou.

    I had the anolog version of that Robinaire when I did refer. Never used on an A/C cause it was considered over kill(30 years ago. So don't beat me up because attitudes were different then).

    Thing had a monstrous vacuum tube thermistor sensor and a big scale and meter movement.

    Thanks.

  5. #44
    to those of you who dont use them........your not doing a very good job! 30" of HG is a long way from 500 microns, this you would never know by just using your gauges. under 500 microns is where you want to be to have all the moisture out of the system. The old 1000 microns is good enough just wont fly anymore.

  6. #45
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    North Richland Hills, Texas
    Posts
    14,914
    Quote Originally Posted by refrtech View Post
    IMHO only a HACK would pull a vaccum on a system w/out checking the micron level .
    Again just my opinion
    +1 for that opinion.

    If you don't/won't use a micron gauge, do everyone a favor and find a new trade.
    If more government is the answer, then it's a really stupid question.

  7. #46
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Greenville,North Carolina
    Posts
    1,902
    Quote Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
    Which is twice a year weather the system needs a vacuum or not.
    ROFL
    LOL,thats funny even if beenthere said it....
    Look to the past to learn;look forward to live.

    Coach Dean E. Smith

  8. #47
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    971
    Quote Originally Posted by DPSwitch View Post
    i use it every time....... why?

    Cause is looks cool and the chicks dig it.

    I guess when you measure "it" in microns it sound a lot bigger!!

    Last edited by Snoring Beagle; 06-22-2008 at 07:40 AM.


    Expect nothing, yet expect the unexpected.
    Press on Regardless, Endeavor to Persevere.

  9. #48
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    22
    i use it everytime the system is opened and i EVEN change the oil in my pump

  10. #49
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    66,750
    Quote Originally Posted by fitterchick View Post
    30" of HG is a long way from 500 microns, this you would never know by just using your gauges.
    Yea, 30"hg is a lot lower then 500 microns.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  11. #50
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Wisconsin, USA
    Posts
    64
    Quote Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
    Yea, 30"hg is a lot lower then 500 microns.
    ...not to mention 30"hg of vacuum is an impossibility. If a "technician" trusts the needle on his/her compound guages to be zeroed perfectly and totally accurate then they are not a technician.

  12. #51
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    66,750
    Quote Originally Posted by air-doctor View Post
    ...not to mention 30"hg of vacuum is an impossibility. If a "technician" trusts the needle on his/her compound guages to be zeroed perfectly and totally accurate then they are not a technician.
    Or just mislead by the people that were training them.

    30"hg, would be a perfect vacuum. And 500 microns is a long way from a perfect vacuum.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  13. #52
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Wisconsin, USA
    Posts
    64
    Quote Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
    30"hg, would be a perfect vacuum. And 500 microns is a long way from a perfect vacuum.
    True.

Page 4 of 18 FirstFirst 123456789101114 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event