View Poll Results: Do you use a micron guage when pulling a vacuum?

Voters
128. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

    116 90.63%
  • Nope, we don't own one.

    12 9.38%
Page 3 of 18 FirstFirst 1234567891013 ... LastLast
Results 27 to 39 of 224
  1. #27
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    2,801
    Quote Originally Posted by I_bend_metal View Post
    I have the CPS also...I love mine...works great
    I like mine too.........just haven't compared it's readings to my YJ.
    ___________________________________________


  2. #28
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    2,876
    Let me know how that comes out....I have had my eye on the YJ too! Mine put the wood to a fieldpeice the other day!
    I need a new signature.....

  3. #29
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    NW burbs of Detroit
    Posts
    6,058
    Quote Originally Posted by I_bend_metal View Post
    If you're not using one....you have no business being in the field.
    Your shameless//////

  4. #30
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Northern VA
    Posts
    389
    Maybe I just got a bad one. It seems to eat batteries.

  5. #31
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    2,876
    Quote Originally Posted by hvaclover View Post
    Your shameless//////
    I resemble that remark
    I need a new signature.....

  6. #32
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    2,876
    Quote Originally Posted by EverettsHVAC View Post
    Maybe I just got a bad one. It seems to eat batteries.
    Could be....I have used mine on about 15 vacs in the last 6 weeks....still on the same battery although I did get the low battery warning yesterday morning. I will change it on Monday. That doesn't seem too bad for a 9 volt
    I need a new signature.....

  7. #33
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Baltimore area
    Posts
    1,818
    IMHO only a HACK would pull a vaccum on a system w/out checking the micron level . That is truely the only way to be 100% sure that you have zero leaks and that the system is contaminent free .

    Again just my opinion

  8. #34
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    NW burbs of Detroit
    Posts
    6,058
    Quote Originally Posted by refrtech View Post
    IMHO only a HACK would pull a vaccum on a system w/out checking the micron level . That is truely the only way to be 100% sure that you have zero leaks and that the system is contaminent free .

    Again just my opinion
    Posative press. I like it better.

  9. #35
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    12,189
    If you work for me and don't use your micron gauge, you'll be finding a new employer.
    Perhaps you should have read the instructions before calling.

  10. #36
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Baltimore area
    Posts
    1,818
    Quote Originally Posted by hvaclover View Post
    Posative press. I like it better.
    NOPE !! Positive pressure can and WILL lie to you , a standing micron reading of 500 or less WILL NOT lie to you !!! There is no arguing with that !!!! I have seen it more than once . Oh and for all of you that do not use a micron gauge , when your gauge on your manifold gets to 30"hg your actual micron level can be 5,000+ !!!

  11. #37
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Ft.Worth,Tx
    Posts
    4,584
    I 'm the only one at the company , that has one.That's why I take longer on repairs and find more tubes not metering or txv failures, due to no vacuum or not long enough vacuums. Nitrogen is used allot but, when you dry a system you have to remove non-condensibles .
    "Everyday above ground, is a good day".
    "But everyday that you have made a difference in someones life, may insure you stay above ground a little longer".<aircooled>

  12. #38
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    NW burbs of Detroit
    Posts
    6,058
    Quote Originally Posted by refrtech View Post
    NOPE !! Positive pressure can and WILL lie to you , a standing micron reading of 500 or less WILL NOT lie to you !!! There is no arguing with that !!!! I have seen it more than once . Oh and for all of you that do not use a micron gauge , when your gauge on your manifold gets to 30"hg your actual micron level can be 5,000+ !!!
    Posative press won't suck in moisture. I'll stick with that. I have yet to find a micron guage that is accurate or does not require a ton of maintenence.

  13. #39
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Houston,Tx.
    Posts
    15,968
    I don't need a micron gauge I have a pressure switch on my pump that shuts my pump down at a 500 microns.
    __________________________________________________ _______________________
    “Experience is a hard teacher because she gives the test first, the lesson afterwards". - Vernon Law

    "Never let success go to your head, and never let failure go to your heart". - Unknown

Page 3 of 18 FirstFirst 1234567891013 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event