Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    9

    Placement of A/C Lines

    I just purchased a new home that does not have a/c. i will be putting one in right away. I will be installing the unit is a location that will need about 30' of copper line run. My question is, in the basement, is it permisable to install a conduit and have the copper lines installed in the conduit to neaten the instilation?

    let me know, cheers

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,913
    Yes, any electrician can do that.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Dallas TX
    Posts
    192
    I would prefer either a metal line set cover or one of the snap-on plastic covers. A conduit large enough for the refrigeration lines could be rather expensive. Our local code is moving towards 1-1/8" wall insulation, thus 7/8" would require a 4" or larger conduit. My luck would mean the insulation would hang on a burr and turn it all into a mess.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Cedar Grove, Wi-Sheboygan
    Posts
    1,582
    With that said, and with regards to insulation on the lineset's how much and how important is insulation on a lineset both indoors and outdoor's ?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    11,863
    Quote Originally Posted by DanW13 View Post
    With that said, and with regards to insulation on the lineset's how much and how important is insulation on a lineset both indoors and outdoor's ?
    Must be pretty important,as the Federal energy code has some regulation on the thickness of the insulation.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,913
    Inside, depends how much water you want collecting under the vapor line.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Dallas TX
    Posts
    192
    The line set insulation thickness is dependant on (ignoring local codes) temperature and humidity and risk of water damage.
    In Houston TX, high humidity and hot weather need the extra insulation within the house and above the ceiling to prevent condensation dripping on the sheet-rock and rinsing the attic dust through and leaving a not so funny brown trail.
    In high altitude parts of New Mexico, you probaly could not get the vapor line to sweat if you had to. My Uncle Lives there and heard a weather report of -12 degree dew point.

    Outside it is partially cosmetic. Of all of the condensing units I have seen where they try to improve SEER rating, none of them insulate the vapor line within the cabinet.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event