Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    9

    2 stage A/C unit

    Is a standard 5 wire control ok for a 2 stage a/c unit?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Philadelphia
    Posts
    2,192
    Do you mean thermostat?
    And do you mean straight cool unit or a heat/cool unit?
    if it is 2 stages cooling how many heating?
    you can get away with a 5 wire for 2 stages cooling and one stage heating with no common to the stat. Unless you have both stages under the same terminal.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    9
    a/c unit is 2 stage, the furnace is single stage

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    4,607
    you can use a honeywell iaq is the blower varible speed

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    9
    as far as i know, no

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,706
    Is this a DIY project.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    9
    yes and no.

    I have just purchased a home. the furnace is about 6 years old with no a/c. I have a friend that works for Johnson Controls and get me a steal on a luxaire 5T a/c unit. i will be doing the majority of the bull work, then brining in an hvac contractor who lives up the road to do the plumbing for the unit. I'm just trying my best to get prepared for him so he can come in, do his stuff with as few hassles as possible.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,706
    Then its a DIY project.
    The same as if you bought the unit off the internet.

    In one of your other post it was only a 2 ton unit, now its a 5 ton.

    Have your friend from JC controls answer your questions.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Philadelphia
    Posts
    2,192
    Quote Originally Posted by 508gm1 View Post
    then brining in an hvac contractor who lives up the road to do the plumbing for the unit.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    9
    2 ton unit, 5T is the model of the unit

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,706
    5T is the series.
    I know those units very well.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Ft.Worth,Tx
    Posts
    4,584

    Post

    DIY means just what it states DO It yourself, then when it's f***ed up,then call a professional to install it properly.

    Don't forget to read the instructions...
    "Everyday above ground, is a good day".
    "But everyday that you have made a difference in someones life, may insure you stay above ground a little longer".<aircooled>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event