Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 14
  1. #1

    need help with r410a Sanyo unit.

    Ok this is my first real post on this forum. i am certified in 410, but havnt been in the field for awhile. This is a super new 40,000 btu mini split, with dc inverter. So heres the run down. leak checked the system up to 600psi. evacuated it. everything good. it has 50 foot line set 100 foot total. opened up the king valves. put it to test run and ran for ten minutes no problems. put it to full cool, 95* day with my 410 gauges connected. this system has a service port on both liquid and gas. my temps are, ambient 95* suction 40* liquid 80* and 110* right out of the compressor. my high side gauge is reading 230 psi. and 130 135 psi on the suction. the evap is blowing out at about 45*, the indoor temp is 85*. no short cycle no freezing. all is pointing to a low charge, but everything else seems to be running the way its designed. the system is pre charged to 7.9 pounds and is good for 10-100' line set. im rusty on 410 its been about 2 years since i graduated. ive been reading through my text book, and i just want to make sure that it is most deff a low charge.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,366
    You vapor sounds a little low, but not bad.

    Some of them your better off leaving run for a longer time before ceciding if its low or not.
    Also, I still think your metering device is outside with that model also, so that may not be a true liquid pressure.

    Check the manual.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  3. #3
    partially gas and liquid, thats what i was reading. thats why i didnt want to follow the text book pressure data. im not sure with these new systems.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,366
    Might want to go to a class on ductless splits.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  5. #5
    well can anyone help me out with a forsure? is the head pressure less due to the way the unit works? do you usually only check suction?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,366
    On ductless splits, usually just check vapor.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    MN
    Posts
    2,677
    since this is an inverter your pressures probably won't always look "textbook" if its cooling good leave it and wait for a class from that manufacturer before you tweak it. If you are really concerned on the charge, recover it, weigh it and then you will know if it is low on charge. I wouldn't recommend adjusting charge on these by pressures/temperatures .
    You can't fix stupid

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,366
    Quote Originally Posted by cmajerus View Post
    since this is an inverter your pressures probably won't always look "textbook"
    In test mode, its the same as any other unit.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    MN
    Posts
    2,677
    wait, I just re-read your post, you have a 40 degree TD an you are worried about a low charge run 'er. It will take care of itself. the install guide probably says what the line temp should be at a certain temp situation, read it for charging info. Fujitsu units you shouldn't even need to hook gauges to unless you determine there is a operational issue.
    You can't fix stupid

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    MN
    Posts
    2,677
    Quote Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
    In test mode, its the same as any other unit.
    I would suppose so, I do not know anything about the new sanyos. I haven't installed one of them for over 10 yrs.
    You can't fix stupid

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,366
    Neither have I.
    I use Samsung.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    MN
    Posts
    2,677
    Quote Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
    Neither have I.
    I use Samsung.
    we have put in fujitsu for the last 3-4 yrs, I think we put in a Samsung or 2 about 5 yrs ago. used to use the GMC units alot, then switched to the Energy Knight junk.

    Have gone to the fujitsu class when it was offered and found it very interesting how they operate, I had no idea before that class.

    To the OP get some posts up so you can apply for pro status and we can share some more technical knowledge with you, but unfortunately can't say to much more on the lines of working on these with out getting in trouble with 5.0
    You can't fix stupid

  13. #13
    thanks a lot guys

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event