Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 16
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    7

    Living room too hot

    hello experts,

    I had a system installed last year. It is a 4 ton! Bryant Evolution package unit.

    BTW, it is not zoned and I don't have an Evolution control, but this is another topic I should start about the contractor....

    Anyways, to get back to the point, I know the system is probably oversized for my 1200 sq ft home, (I plan to add on) but yet my living room is not adequately cooled. Alll of the rooms seem to get the same amount of air which seems kind of nuts, since the living room is twice as big as most rooms.

    I couldn't get the orig contractor to do anything about it, so I am going to get another contractor to look at it and give an opinion; meanwhile I thought I'd check with you guys. BTW, this second guy is not a Bryant guy; should I just start with a Bryant expert because of the Evolution (assuming specialized knowledge would help)

    Thoughts/comments/questions?

    Thanks in advance,
    Steve

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Fort Worth, TX
    Posts
    11,376
    Did you opt out of the Evolution control, or did the contractor skip out on installing it? Seems a waste to have a system with the control capabilities of the Evolution/Infinity and then hamstring it by a lesser control.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    7
    Contractor didn't offer it. Seems odd.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Northern Wisconsin
    Posts
    2,037
    IMO I'd try and get another Bryant dealer in to help solve your problem. At least that way when you need service or warranty you have someone that knows the equipment and should have anything you'd need on the truck with them.
    Seriously think about changing up to the evolution control.
    Use the biggest hammer you like, pounding a square peg into a round hole does not equal a proper fit.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    68,782
    Quick, somebody check the static on it.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    TEXAS
    Posts
    1,701
    infinity/evolution controls are designed for your system. call a carrier or bryant dealer to tweak your system. that may not do anything for your hot spots ,but its the place to start.
    "When the people find they can vote themselves money,that will herald the end of the republic" - Benjamin Franklin

    "Government is not reason, it is not eloquence, it is force;like fire, a troublesome servant and a fearful master. Never for a moment should it be left to irresponsible action"- George Washington

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Cedar Grove, Wi-Sheboygan
    Posts
    1,582
    Wow !!!! No Infinity controller with the new equipment, My installer told me flat out that he would not sell the Infinity furnace if I did not get the Infinity controller installed with the furnace !!! Is your house not insulated that you needed a 4 ton unit for 1200 sq ft. ? I have just under 1500 sq ft. 2 story and have a 2 ton AC, just seems to be a bit much for the size home you are saying you have unless you meant to say 2200 sq ft. Oh and have someone do a load calc for your home or download the program here from this site and do it yourself for a nomial fee.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    7
    Thanks all for the responses

    Yes, I said 1200 but am planning to add on 3-400 sq ft

    Also, I have cathedral ceiling through most of the house which means more air to cool; and it gets pretty hot here - basically a desert (it's the east end of LA County). For instance it was 104 when I got home today. OK, that was a record but high 90s are common in the summer.

    Anyways, thanks for all the tips, and if you know a Bryant contractor in this area, feel encouraged to email or pm me.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    7
    hi all,

    If the second contractor determines the installation is faulty (and I mean grossly), I am planning on filing a complaint with the Calif. Contractor Board.

    (I have called the first contractor out a few times without getting him to fix anything at all)....

    Any advice or comments on this?

    tia
    Steve

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Monroe Ga
    Posts
    77
    4 tons of conditioned air for 1200 sq ft?? Ive got 3 tons on 1700 sq ft with vaulted ceilings. If i were you i would be looking for "biological growth" in your house then when you find it....Get a good lawyer. With a 4 ton system with that little of conditioned space. You are removing little if any humidity and keeping whats there a breeding ground for that nasty 4 letter word we dont like in this business. If you dont know what it is it rhymes with "gold"

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    68,782
    I cool 1650 sq ft with a 2.5 ton A/C.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Northern Wisconsin
    Posts
    2,037
    I cooled my 1600 sq ft with a 5200 btu/hr window shaker. Try and find that size in a 2 stage HP.
    Use the biggest hammer you like, pounding a square peg into a round hole does not equal a proper fit.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    7
    Hi All,

    I had the system inspected by another licensed contractor. He found that
    1. No dampers were installed (so could not be balanced)
    2. The air return is undersized
    3. The ducts were approx the same size for a short run to a bedroom or a long run to a large living room (thus the bedrooms freeze and the living room swelters)

    and some other stuff... So, I contacted the orig contractor and they said now they will take care of this stuff (to avoid an official complaint I am sure)

    Question is : what standard can I hold them to ? Is there an authoritative resource for issues like this?

    Thanks for all your help

    steve

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event