Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 14 to 21 of 21
  1. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
    How did it do other years for cooling the second floor.
    This will only be our second summer in the house. It developed a freon leak last summer as well. Performance deteriorated until we figured out it was leaking and had it fixed. Seemed to work OK after that, but we only ran the AC for a month or so after we had it fixed.

  2. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,918
    Com on, ya gotta work work with me here. LOL


    A mistake that is some times made on 2 sorty houses. Is that they only consider the floored area for the second floor. And list the wall areas of the open areas as first floor load.
    Then the second floor becomes undersized, and the first floor over sized.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  3. #16
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    new jersey
    Posts
    752
    double check load calculation and let that be the key to the size.

  4. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,918
    GIGO double checked still equals GIGO.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  5. #18
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    South,Tx
    Posts
    331

    Thermostats in the right place for Upper/ down ?

    besides heat Loads , the running of the units is done by the placement of Thermostats , for that whole area. Are they located at the right place !
    Digital are more efficient +/_ 1*

  6. #19
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,918
    Quote Originally Posted by derbysr View Post
    the running of the units is done by the placement of Thermostats , for that whole area. Are they located at the right place !
    Digital are more efficient +/_ 1*
    Digital thermostats with a 1 accuracy in maintaining temp. Are LESS efficient then a mechanical with a 4 spread.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  7. #20
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    South,Tx
    Posts
    331

    Adjustment on.................

    You can do all kinds of nice adjusments with these digitals.
    The right thermo for the customer depending what "they" want.

  8. #21
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,918
    I use a lot o fthe high ebd digitals.

    But you said the are more efficient. They are not. They are more accurate, and can provide better comfort.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event