Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Liquid line frosting on a mini split heat pump

Sry i dont have much to work with at this point but i am looking for a little help before i go back out to this house. Was already dark when i got there so i wasnt going to tear the unit down at night.

System is a one year old mini split heatpump and is frosting from the liquid line king valve toward the evap coil. It is a 410-A system. Board on the condenser was flashing an overheat code for the compressor. Condensor discharge air was equal to ambient outdoor temp. I have no experience with mini splits but went to put my guages on it and only the suction side king valve had a service port which i found odd considering it is a 410-a system.

Main thing i would like to know is, would a stuck reversing valve cause this problem?

According to the home owner the system cooled great all last summer and the heatpump did fine over the winter but has not cooled well this entire spring. thx in advance for any help.

Look for leak.

R410A ductless only have a suction port fitting.
    And its not 1/4"
    Contractor locator map

How-to-apply-for-Professional

How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

thx for reply..on a side note...isnt it weird to only have a suction side service port on a 410-a system when you charge 410-a systems by means of subcooling which is checked at the liquid line service port?

At least that is how i was taught to charge them at a 410-a class at the carrier plant in memphis,tn.

R410A isn't charged by SC if the system uses a piston, which some manufacturers do.
    Your class may have been a brand specific one.

Since that insn't a liquid line that you see, it makes sense not to have a port on it.
    Contractor locator map

http://www.mrslim.com/UploadedFiles/...ies_OB450A.pdf