Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast
Results 53 to 65 of 73
  1. #53
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Rochester, MN
    Posts
    5,304
    Quote Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
    Plus, I believe the 4210 can be used on fossil fuel fnaces. Like the 5220 can.
    With a heat pump as a back up, yes. Gas alone, no.

  2. #54
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,899
    Quote Originally Posted by mayguy View Post
    With a heat pump as a back up, yes. Gas alone, no.
    Hmmm.

    For some reason, I think your right. Now I got to go look.


    You were right I was wrong.
    Last edited by beenthere; 06-18-2008 at 10:11 AM. Reason: **&%^%**&
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  3. #55
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Downers Grove Il
    Posts
    14
    So the thermostat may be wrong too ?

  4. #56
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Rochester, MN
    Posts
    5,304
    Quote Originally Posted by big windy View Post
    So the thermostat may be wrong too ?
    Do you know the full model # you got? If you got the TH4110, it can be used. but it won't fire 2nd stage as needed, the timer on the board will do that, and lot of us don't like that..

    But if it's TH4210, then it won't work, unless you have a heat pump set up with your furnace.

  5. #57
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,899
    Yea, 2 stage furnaces on timers don't have the ability to provide the comfort like a thermostat controlling it would give.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  6. #58
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Downers Grove Il
    Posts
    14
    Th4110d1007

  7. #59
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,899
    Quote Originally Posted by big windy View Post
    Th4110d1007
    Single stage heat single stage cool. They are going to run the second stage off the furnace boards timer.

    When did they say they will be back?
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  8. #60
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Downers Grove Il
    Posts
    14
    Well after replacing the limit switch it still tripped , he also removed the ducting to prove to me it wasn't a restrictive venting issue . The service tech believes it is a burner issue . I spoke to the owner of the outfit he promises complete satisfaction , they are replacing the furnace and will re-evaluate the sizing . If I want a different thermostat (tech felt that the thermostat was a good one) , they will also get whatever I want (any recommendations?) It seems to be being handled as professionally possible . Except for possibly having the wrong size furnace. They will advise me on Monday the details . Trane is being called by the company.

  9. #61
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    NW burbs of Detroit
    Posts
    6,058
    Since this Trane stopped, tell them to give you a Westinghouse 95% 2stg with VS motor.

    Like i said, Westinghouse makes the brakes for Tranes(trains).

  10. #62
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,899
    Did he remove the supply and return ducting?

    A Honeywell TH5220 digital non programable, or a TH6220 digital programable thermostat.

    If you need more then a 80,000 BTU 90% I'll be suppirised.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  11. #63
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN, USA
    Posts
    34,077
    Where are you? What's the house like? More than normal amount of windows? No insulation? I'm with been, still suspicious on sizing.

    As I pointed out, Sis has a 75K 92% on a 2 story house about your size. Ducts in the crawl, leaky windows, decent insulation. At about -5 it will run constantly, might start to lose ground about -10 out but that's once every 10 years or so. She got a test furnace - I had a choice of 75K or 120K and wasn't about to go the monster.

    I would certainly request the 2 stage thermostat wired properly instead of crippling a great furnace with a timed 2nd stage.

  12. #64
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Downers Grove Il
    Posts
    14
    Removed supply and return . Looking for a programmable thermostat .

  13. #65
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Western NC
    Posts
    2,504
    Quote Originally Posted by big windy View Post
    Removed supply and return . Looking for a programmable thermostat .
    Honeywell 8000 series.

    touchscreen programmable.

    You can go to the IAQ if you want. Thats the macdaddy. If not, I would tell them to put in a TCON803. Thats the Trane number for the Honeywell 8000.
    I fully support the military and the War on Terrorism.


    If you don't know, then don't do. If you don't know and still do, then be prepared to pay someone else a lot to undo what you did and then do it right.

    If you do know, then do. But do it right. Otherwise, you may not be doing it long.

Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event