Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast
Results 14 to 26 of 73
  1. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Western NC
    Posts
    2,504
    Quote Originally Posted by I_bend_metal View Post
    There already is one! It got going pretty good, but it kinda lost steam...I have a million of 'em.
    where is it. I could give you a run for your money.
    I fully support the military and the War on Terrorism.


    If you don't know, then don't do. If you don't know and still do, then be prepared to pay someone else a lot to undo what you did and then do it right.

    If you do know, then do. But do it right. Otherwise, you may not be doing it long.

  2. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    burlington county n.j.
    Posts
    9,642
    Quote Originally Posted by big windy View Post
    120,000 btu , 3.5 ton ac , same as the old Rheem equipt . It is a hair over for 2,400 square ft. , they feel the venting was more than adequate , hope they are right .


    what did they size it with manual geee???


    was old heater 95% efficient??

  3. #16
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    66,758
    Quote Originally Posted by t527ed View Post
    what did they size it with manual geee???


    was old heater 95% efficient??
    No, the flue pipe didn't have any holes in it.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  4. #17
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    2,875
    http://www.hvac-talk.com/vbb/showthr...t=Movie+Quotes

    It started out as a TV quote thread...ended up with a little of everything.
    I need a new signature.....

  5. #18
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Western NC
    Posts
    2,504
    That thread died.

    Time to start a new one
    I fully support the military and the War on Terrorism.


    If you don't know, then don't do. If you don't know and still do, then be prepared to pay someone else a lot to undo what you did and then do it right.

    If you do know, then do. But do it right. Otherwise, you may not be doing it long.

  6. #19
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN, USA
    Posts
    33,389
    Quote Originally Posted by big windy View Post
    120,000 btu , 3.5 ton ac , same as the old Rheem equipt . It is a hair over for 2,400 square ft. , they feel the venting was more than adequate , hope they are right .
    That's a lot of furnace. Sis has same size house and 75K 92% furnace! And we get below zero each winter.

    They better check static pressure of the duct system. Still think an airflow issue.

  7. #20
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Rochester, NY, USA
    Posts
    14,029
    Quote Originally Posted by big windy View Post
    120,000 btu , 3.5 ton ac , same as the old Rheem equipt . It is a hair over for 2,400 square ft. , they feel the venting was more than adequate , hope they are right .
    whats the duct size??? How big is the cold air drop? The vent pipes should be 3" and they can run out 200 liner feet? How many 90 elbows are in the vent pipe?
    "Arguing with liberals...it's like playing chess with a pigeon; no matter how good I am at chess, the pigeon is just going to knock over the pieces, crap on the board and strut around like it's victorious." -- Anonymous

  8. #21
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Rochester, NY, USA
    Posts
    14,029
    Quote Originally Posted by BaldLoonie View Post
    That's a lot of furnace. Sis has same size house and 75K 92% furnace! And we get below zero each winter.

    They better check static pressure of the duct system. Still think an airflow issue.

    thats what I'm thinking. I think he's got undersize duct, or not enough cold air return.......or both
    "Arguing with liberals...it's like playing chess with a pigeon; no matter how good I am at chess, the pigeon is just going to knock over the pieces, crap on the board and strut around like it's victorious." -- Anonymous

  9. #22
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    North Richland Hills, Texas
    Posts
    14,914
    Your new furnace most likely has significantly more heating capacity than your old one, and has much higher airflow requirements.
    I hope they increased your ductwork too.

    Did they do a load calculation, or just replace input capacity for input capacity?
    If more government is the answer, then it's a really stupid question.

  10. #23
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    NW burbs of Detroit
    Posts
    6,058
    How to stop a Trane: Buy Westinghouse equipment; they make train brakes too.

    See? Not so hard. Just a matter of switching suppliers.

  11. #24
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Rochester, MN
    Posts
    5,304
    I agree, sounds like a LOT of furnace for that house! Was a Manual-J Calc done on the home when you got a bid?

    A static test should be done, and also temp rise.

  12. #25
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Downers Grove Il
    Posts
    14
    The exhaust vent and cold air intake are 3"x 6' w 3 elbows
    returns are 2-14"x8" and a 6" round
    send vents 10"x8" , 10"x24", 18"x8"

    Rheem was 80 vented to chimney .
    If I am over sized what are my options . None of the 4 contractors did static tests etc. Looks like I have a bigger problem than a switch eh.

  13. #26
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Western NC
    Posts
    2,504
    Quote Originally Posted by big windy View Post
    The exhaust vent and cold air intake are 3"x 6' w 3 elbows
    returns are 2-14"x8" and a 6" round
    send vents 10"x8" , 10"x24", 18"x8"

    Rheem was 80 vented to chimney .
    If I am over sized what are my options . None of the 4 contractors did static tests etc. Looks like I have a bigger problem than a switch eh.
    Since it was just installed, I would be demanding to see the load calculation. And if it is in fact oversized, I would be wanting the proper sized unit.

    If the unit is sized properly and the ductwork is the problem, then you need new ductwork. But if the contractor never mentioned the need for ductwork, I would be asking for pretty good price.
    I fully support the military and the War on Terrorism.


    If you don't know, then don't do. If you don't know and still do, then be prepared to pay someone else a lot to undo what you did and then do it right.

    If you do know, then do. But do it right. Otherwise, you may not be doing it long.

Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event