Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 26
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    MO. USA
    Posts
    46

    Exclamation Honeywell VisionPRO IAQ Issue

    My wife just called and said the a/c unit is not coming on. She said there were no power surges or outages; the breakers, the emergency switch by the furnace and box outside are all Ok, but the T-Stat is completely off-line. (no display, no Err code)

    We recently had a new York Affinity furnace and a/c installed and everything had worked like a champ until this AM. The installers are coming out today. It could be any number of things wrong but I think it's the T-Stat. Any Thoughts??
    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    1,195
    Did you change your filter in the last day or 3?
    Ed J

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    MO. USA
    Posts
    46
    Quote Originally Posted by Ed Janowiak View Post
    Did you change your filter in the last day or 3?
    It's only two weeks old.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    1,195
    If the door is not on the furnace correctly the power will be interrupted to the furnace. This will give you a blank screen on your t-stat (even if it's only 2 weeks old) That's why I asked .
    Ed J

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,755
    I have no idea why you would think its the stat.

    Could be several things causing it.

    If you turn the key to your car, and hear no noise. Do you imediately things its the starter.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    MO. USA
    Posts
    46
    Quote Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
    I have no idea why you would think its the stat.

    Could be several things causing it.

    If you turn the key to your car, and hear no noise. Do you imediately things its the starter.
    True. It could also be the battery or alternator.

    I think it's the stat b/c there's no power, no display, not even an Err message. What would cause it to do that?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,755
    No power from the furnace.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    MO. USA
    Posts
    46
    Quote Originally Posted by Ed Janowiak View Post
    If the door is not on the furnace correctly the power will be interrupted to the furnace. This will give you a blank screen on your t-stat (even if it's only 2 weeks old) That's why I asked .
    You're right of course but in my situation, that's not the case.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    1,195
    Quote Originally Posted by drumstorm View Post
    You're right of course
    If only I could get my wife to say that...... even once......

    Switch at the top of the stairs is on right?

    Try kicking the heater yet? Thats my "go to" move.
    Ed J

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,755
    Quote Originally Posted by Ed Janowiak View Post
    I

    Switch at the top of the stairs is on right?
    No, the switch doesn't turn the basement lights off anymore either. ROFL
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    MO. USA
    Posts
    46
    Quote Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
    No power from the furnace.
    I think there is power to the furnace b/c I can hear a low humming sound.
    Well, the installer is here. We'll see.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,755
    Power to the furnace, doesn't mean power to the stat.

    We're waitng for the answer.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    1,195
    Low humming sound, if only I could get my........ oh never mind .


    That tells us it has power, I bet it's the thermostat .

    Don't leave us hangin, please let us know what the problem is / was.
    Ed J

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event