Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 27 to 37 of 37
  1. #27
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    48
    Quote Originally Posted by udarrell View Post
    Unless you have a lot of A/C hours per season, it will make little difference in cooling costs.

    I personally like the Goodman 14-SEER with a scroll compressor & a TXV metering device. If Installed properly with plenty of airflow at proper static pressures & an attainable 450-cfm/ton of cooling, it should do the job with good payback.

    Optimal Airflow is extremely important toward optimal Btu/hr performance! - udarrell
    I saw a number of 1402 hours cooling for my area. Is that a lot?

    I have to buy a new unit anyway, what would the payback difference be between the Goodman 14SEER and the Amana 18SEER? That's really the question at this point.

    Clay

  2. #28
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    The Twilight Zone
    Posts
    2,964
    Quote Originally Posted by udarrell View Post
    I personally like the Goodman 14-SEER with a scroll compressor & a TXV metering device. If Installed properly with plenty of airflow at proper static pressures & an attainable 450-cfm/ton of cooling, it should do the job with good payback.
    This is my system

  3. #29
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    The Twilight Zone
    Posts
    2,964
    Quote Originally Posted by frijoli View Post
    I have to buy a new unit anyway, what would the payback difference be between the Goodman 14SEER and the Amana 18SEER? That's really the question at this point.

    Clay
    Going with the 18 SEER, 2 stage, would solve your 2.5 ton/3 ton dilemma.

    These 2 stage systems are more for comfort than cost savings.

    Good luck.

  4. #30
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,328
    Hold up a minute.

    To the OP, is your current A/C a 2 ton unit.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  5. #31
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    48
    Quote Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
    Hold up a minute.

    To the OP, is your current A/C a 2 ton unit.
    My Current broken unit is 2.0ton, which according to the load calc was .5 tons small.

    Clay

  6. #32
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,328
    Then you don't have ductwork big enough for 3 tons.

    Have you, or has your contractor brought up anything about needing to remediate your ductwork and the number, or size of your supplies and returns to use a 3 ton.
    Basically, your 2 ton was suppose to be moving 800 CFM, with a 3 ton, supposedly you will need to move 1200 CFM. Big difference.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  7. #33
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    48
    Quote Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
    Then you don't have ductwork big enough for 3 tons.

    Have you, or has your contractor brought up anything about needing to remediate your ductwork and the number, or size of your supplies and returns to use a 3 ton.
    Basically, your 2 ton was suppose to be moving 800 CFM, with a 3 ton, supposedly you will need to move 1200 CFM. Big difference.
    you suck! jk

    I thought I was done with this. How do I know if it's too small a duct system?

    Clay

  8. #34
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,328
    Have your contractor do a static pressure test.
    If your system is currently moving 800 CFM at .6" static, then at 1200 CFM your static will increase to 1.35". Which is outside the ability of a residential blower.
    Your TESP would need to be under .4" to install a 3 ton.
    He can also measure it, and determine if it will handle it. BNut an actual pressure test is more accurate.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  9. #35
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    48

    Talking

    Spoke to my installer again. He says they measured the length and diameters of the ducts, and he didn't recommend going the 3 ton route. He said I was pushing the envelope a little too much. He said there would be too much back pressure, and would not de humidify as well. Go figure.

    You guys have been a great help, and wealth of information! Thanks for keeping me in line and not allowing me to waste my cash!

    I think I finally found a good company to work with, and some good people here as well.

    I'm going with his first recomendation, with the VS air handler upgrade.

    How do you guys feel about Electrostatic filters?(ducks and covers)

  10. #36
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,328
    How do you feel about having to pay to replace an expensive VS motor because you used a restrictive electrostatic filter?

    A 4" media filter will work as well, and not kill the VS motor.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  11. #37
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    48
    Quote Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
    How do you feel about having to pay to replace an expensive VS motor because you used a restrictive electrostatic filter?

    A 4" media filter will work as well, and not kill the VS motor.
    Yeah that last one was a little dig. I have a 4" in my current unit!

    Clay

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event