Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

What is an air handler?

Okay so I am new at this and don't understand terminology that well. My a/c was diagosed with a bad evaporator coil. It is a Furr Down 31HX8-240 model. I think it is 10 SEER, although I am not sure what that means

I've gotten a number of different estimates to replace it. Two are~ $X,800 for which I've been promised a new evaporator and blower motor. The other is 1/2 as much which covers the installation of a new "air handler". Are these estimates covering the same thing? Are they reasonably priced? Please help as I am relatively clueless on these matters.

On a side note, here's how I found out that I have a bad evaporator coil:
    I had someone come in two weeks ago to recharge the a/c. That's the guy who said it was a bad evaporator. He said he could tell because coolant was leaking through the air vents. He told me he'd used 10 lbs. of R-22 coolant which leaked out in less than 24 hours. I've never heard from this guy again even though I have left messages every day seeking an estimate on the evaporator. I'm pretty sure I got ripped off by that guy as many people say that my system probably doesn't even hold 10 lbs. of a/c
    Last edited by SuperNoobie; 06-10-2008 at 07:20 PM.

Hey super,edit out the prices .

the air handler is the whole cabinet case with new evap and motor inside . Its very common for the evap to leak ...

Quote Originally Posted by Snapperhead View Post
    the air handler is the whole cabinet case with new evap and motor inside . Its very common for the evap to leak ...
    Does it include the blower motor? What else would be in an air handler apart from an evaporator and a blower motor?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HVAC Scroll towards the bottom and it will explain what an air handler is.