Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 27 to 33 of 33
  1. #27
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    28
    theres not room to add the humiditrol module downstairs, not enough height available.

    the tech is here now. downstairs system is undercharged and not enough wires run to the comfortsense stat to enable dehumidification. this tech is exactly who i needed to come out. he's got a boatload of test equipment, meters, lots of neat stuff with pretty lights and he seems to know how to use all of them.

    also he found a 90 degree 'L' and nipple lying loose on top of one of the burner tubes, grounding out the flame sensor in the upstairs furnace.

    with big companies it's the luck of the draw with who you get. some good, some worthless. this guy is clean, organized, educated, knows the equipment, he even speaks english. says he'll be here late, until it's all running correctly.

    no worries here.

  2. #28
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    96
    I am sure he has had a long day. Very hot in NC. Are they going to run new wires to enable that feature.

  3. #29
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    28
    yeah, he'll run the correct wiring over to the stat. he's re-doing a total start-up of both systems. said he worked til 9 last night and might be later tonight.

  4. #30
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    28
    got the stat wired up correctly and the board configured for dehumidification.

    neither one of the systems are performing to this techs satisfaction, so they will be removing the pistons/orifices and installing txv's next week.

  5. #31
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Richmond, Virginia
    Posts
    4,264
    Make sure that the condensers and evaporator coils are ARI matches. If not, they will never operate properly. All the information needed is available to Lennox dealers. If in doubt call 1-800-4LENNOX.
    There is nothing more frightful than ignorance in action....Mark Twain

  6. #32
    In this situation, would anyone have considered using a single condenser with a variable speed blower and zoning? With humidity issues below, you could easily adjust the dampers so they never fully close, so there will always be air circulating down there even when there is no call.

  7. #33
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,314
    I wouldn't.
    Already set up for 2 units. So by the time you redid the ductwork, and add the zoning system, run larger line set, pull a bigger electrical feed for teh larger outdoor unit. You have about the same cost.
    Weather you oversize the lower level with 2 units, or with a zoning system, its still oversized.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event