Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

evaporator freeze up

Went on a call today to check out a walk-in freezer. And let me tell you that I have little or no experience with walk-ins. And as usual, the dispachter fails to tell me that I'm the fourth tech there in the last week. Maintanence director is mad and wants answers.

Condenser: Kolpak M768020
    PR249LOP

Evaporator: Heatcraft LET090BSWJ
    D97J01078

I sat down and read the last three service reports. They are as follows.
    Tech 1 arrives and finds frozen evaporator. He diagnoses a slow evep fan. He thaws and changes one fan.

Tech 2 arrives and finds frozen evap and diagnoses low on refrigerant. He thaws unit and recommends replacing unit.

Tech 3 gets called out last night. He finds frozen evap and thaws unit. Writes on service order that we will return to check defrost tmer and heaters.

So they send me out to follow up and do we look bad. Now like I said, I have very little experience with walk-ins and my Service Manager knows this and he does't answer his phone. WTF. So I'm assuming that this is a pump down unit. Are they all pump down systems or not? I advanced the timer and it didn't pump down. So now I change the timer. The timer is replaced with the same D-Frost-O-Matic 8145-20-OEM. When I advance timer it does not pump down. I get Tech 2 on the phone and he says maybe it's not a pump down system. He says check amp draw on terminals 3 and four on timer. I have amps on 4 but not 3. I'm lost and need help.

Number 3 on that clock is the normally open switch and number 4 is closed.

When the timer advances into defrost 3 will close energizing the defrost heaters and 4 will open closing the normally closed pump down solenoid and shut down the fans. X is the defrost termination.