Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Evaporator Coil: replace only or replace furnace

Hello all, newbie here. We live in North Texas, have a 5 ton heat pump. Evaporator coil is rusted pretty bad, almost certainly out of warranty.

Unit quit cooling last week, called A/C man from church(he owns his business). He cleaned the evap. coil and added refrigerant. The next afternoon, probably 30 hours later noticed problem, unit stopped cooling again. I talked to him and he suggested turning the fan on, to help defrost the system. He was going out of town, this was Friday. Also, he mentioned he cleaned the outside of the evap. coil, but mentioned something about it being extremely difficult to get to the inside of the coil.

I turned on the fan and heard some "rain" coming from the unit. (we had small problem with a condensate line stopping up before) I was unscrewing the return air in front of the unit when I heard a crash. It was ice that had come from the unit.

We went without A/C all weekend, he called today, asked if he could come tomorrow. Yes, of course! He told me the price of a new evap. coil would be almost as much as a furnace. After digging around on the net, I think he meant as much as an air handler?

Is it easier on the A/C man to install an air handler than an evap. coil?

Are air handlers rated for SEER by themselves, or does it matter?

If we're looking at buying an evap. coil only, does it matter what brand?

If we're looking at the air handler, I assume the brand does matter?

Thanks

Get a new air handler....matching an outdoor unit with just a replacement coil for an air handler is rough. I would suggest upgrading to a variable speed blower in that new air handler as well!!
    I need a new signature.....

What about SEER ratings and brand?

Thanks, I_bend, what do you think about the other questions I asked?

And one other, if we put in a variable speed motor, will the efficiency improve drastically?