Which model on a budget

Newbie here, and I hope this is not considered pricing which the rules note as a no-no. I apologize in advance if it is considered so.

Anyways, my 15 year 3.5 ton Goodman AC unit has been dying a slow death. Over the past 5 years, I have had to replace the Air Handler; Wiring from the Air Handler to the outside AC unit; and the thermostat.

Well this year the AC quit blowing cold air. My friends brother who is a certified TRANE technician came out and using a multimeter found that the voltage was not right and concluded the compressor was shot.

So he asked what my budget was as he recommended not to replace the compressor and to instead replace BOTH the AC unit and the air handler.

I wont bore you with my money issues and lack of, but I said I cant swing more then $2,000.

He tells me then that replacing the compressor will be $1600 or replacing the AC unit with another Goodman will be $2300. This all includes labor.

So which should I do? How important is it to replace the air hander? its only three years old, And I paid about $2500 for that.

Again I really cant afford to spend much more then $2000.

Suggestion's appreciated. Flaming my post I can do without.

Thank you for your time.

Get several estimates. You might think about financing. Lots of companies have financing available. Better to get a good working system for a low monthly payment. Check out all contractors. Get references. Make the calls. You just might get exactly what you pay for.

Quote Originally Posted by billydove View Post
    ...I hope this is not considered pricing...
    I'm afraid so.

Yeah that was considered pricing, no good here!

Get a second opinion, if the AHU is only 3years old and rest of system is decent (lineset / rest of condensing unit) a compressor is probably all you need. It all depends
    Sometimes when I consider what tremendous consequences come from little things, I am tempted to think there are no little things!