Results 1 to 13 of 20

Thread: We have no A/C!

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Southern New Hampshire (USA)
    Posts
    401

    We have no A/C!

    A little background on this call... Went here for a PM/startups. This unit had a bad LPCO. The way the contract was set up, NO repairs can be made on a PM without authorization. So, I noted it and left it (it wasn't warm enough to need it yet, anyway). Apparently, the tenant (a weight loss center) needed the cooling anyway (understandably). Since we are hired by the bldg. owner and not the tenants, they didn't know we were their service company, and called someone else. The landlord showed up while they were there, and kicked them out not thinking anything of it. Then we get an emergency call for A/C. This is what I found, only expecting to be replacing a LPCO, and having no idea another Co. had been out here. The funny part is, they had the transformer ripped out, and all the other wiring disconnected. What a mess. Got some nice overtime, though since I was sent at the end of the day, and it was supposed to be a quick fix. Had to rewire most of it, using a washed out, illegible wiring diagram.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    68,782
    So where are the pics.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Southern New Hampshire (USA)
    Posts
    401
    Quote Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
    So where are the pics.
    Don't worry... I wasn't trying to take you "around the world" again.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    68,782
    Did the landlord catch them trying to fix it.
    Or trying to strip it.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Southern New Hampshire (USA)
    Posts
    401
    Trying to fix it, I guess.... but I don't understand why they had the transformer and half of the wiring out when all it needed was a LPCO. Apparently they had no clue where to start troubleshooting it, and just started replacing stuff randomly.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    In a freezer or in an attic somewhere
    Posts
    550
    Did it take you back to a/c basics? It is a transformer. Wire it and begone.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    442
    looks like they bad the blower motor off as well. Seen it in the lower right hand corner.
    When you do a job, Always make it easier for the next guy, because you may be the next guy working on it.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    7

    Talking

    looks like it may be time for a new unit:

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Southern New Hampshire (USA)
    Posts
    401
    Quote Originally Posted by bgb View Post
    looks like it may be time for a new unit:
    Pretty soon... it's the only one left from the originals- all the others have been replaced already (6). Now that it's all squared away, I think this one's got another few years left in it (maybe). They don't run very often here... they're only occupied for a few hours a day.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Southern New Hampshire (USA)
    Posts
    401


    (Pic didn't come thru 1st time)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event